CHEM 3980: Honors Research

Online resource containing reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.

Electronic version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Includes many updated and expanded tables: Fundamental Physical Constants (the new set of CODATA recommended values, replacing the 1986 set); The Elements (descriptive texts on the occurrence, properties, history, and uses of all the chemical elements); Dissociation Constants of Organic Acids and Bases (expanded by 50%); Dipole Moments (revised and expanded); Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants (including the most recent recommendations).

Reference books and databases from sci-tech publishers.**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link:
http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel.

Reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering ebooks and videos integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.

Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).

Combined Compendex, Ei Backfile, GeoRef, Inspec and Inspec Archive databases on scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

Chemical reactions, chemical substances and measured substance property data from chemistry journals and organic chemistry patent publications. Synthesis planner and the ability to generate a structure query from a name. Reaxys Xcelerate Direct enables fast insights into the data as well as instantaneous synthesis planning.

Provides integrated access to authoritative references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. New Scifinder platform with PatentPak and MethodsNow.

Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index and patent citation information from the Patents Citation Index.

A smart citation index that uses scientific publications to contextualize citations and indicate whether the content provides supporting or contrasting evidence for a referenced work. It offers a quantitative and qualitative insight into how scientific publications cite each other.