Off-Campus Access - when accessing sources from off-campus you will typically be prompted to login with your ID and e-password in order to access library materials such as databases and electronic journals.
Databases for Civil and Environmental Engineering:
- Compendex (Engineering Village) - the most comprehensive bibliographic database for engineering literature. Coverage dates back to 1884. Note: Compendex is NOT a full text database. Use the Full Text or findit@VU buttons to navigate to the full text article. Uncheck the Inspec box if you only want to search Compendex. (Inspec is the database for physics, electrical eng. and computer science) Engineering Village Getting Started Series: Quick Search (YouTube)
- Web of Science (Science Citation Index) - interdisciplinary reference database (not only engineering). Unique for viewing references, tracking citations and analyzing research importance.
Civil / Environmental Engineering and Other Related Databases:
- ASCE Database (CEDB) - ASCE's Free Information Retrieval Service - providing access to over 170,000 bibliographic records of all ASCE publications.
- ICE Virtual Library (UK) - From ICE Publishing, the most comprehensive online civil engineering resource in the world. Here you can explore our archives back to 1836, browse ICE Publishing's internationally renowned journals and access over 1,500 print and ebooks to find the information you need.
- Google Scholar - indexes content from a broad number of publishers. Works with the findit@VU linking system. You must set your preferences to VU. Go to Settings > Library Links.
- Transportation Research Information Service (TRID) - is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Full-Text Interdisciplinary Databases:
- ProQuest - primarily a full text database, although sometimes articles are only HTML full text rather than PDF. Indexes scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers etc. Can limit search to just peer-review articles.
- General Onefile - similar to ProQuest, however coverage is stronger in the sciences. Can limit search to just peer-review articles.
Full-Text Publisher-Specific Databases: