HIST 2530/5530 - African Religions in the Americas - Landers: News Resources

Full text access to numerous 19th-century US papers.

Eight searchable 19th-century African-American newspapers.(a subset of Accessible Archives).

Includes selected US newspapers rom 1690-1789.

Can search all papers from the Caribbean islands or singly. Also Includes French, Spanish and Dutch islands. Note list of titles and number of issues included since many titles are incomplete.

Digital collection of historical (19th-20th c) newspapers from around the globe. Can limit to Latin American country or regionally.

Provides full images of the pages of The Times (London) from 1785 -2014.

Provides full-text access to these African American newspapers: Baltimore Afro American (189301988) and New York Amersterdam News (1922-1993). Selected others include The Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922), the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1990), The LA Times (1881-1990),The New York Times (1851-2010), and The Washington Post (1877-1997). Search all titles at once, singly, or in any combination.

Contains newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).

A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database of 200 local and regional US newspapers, chronicling 19th-century American culture, daily life and events.

Includes "17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, "19th Century U.S. Newspapers," "Sunday Times, Times Literary Supplement, and "Times Digital Archive."

Full images of the pages of The Sunday Times (London).

Can limit to the publication, Niles' National Register (Baltimore) 1811-1849. It provides good coverage of Latin American events.