Research Guides: HIST 2255: Inventing the Modern Economy: Eighteenth-Century Europe: News Sources

News & Video Sources

Newspapers
Magazines

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
Times Digital Archive (London Times) This link opens in a new window
Full images of the pages of The Times (London) including advertising, book reviews, letters to the editor, and obituaries as well as news articles.
Coverage: 1785-2019
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection, sourced from the Bodleian Library, complements the titles and issues found in the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers database.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries: newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers offers an unprecedented look back into the history of the United States—the story of its people, ideals, commerce, and everyday life. Includes the following collections: African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers: 1690-1789, Early American Newspapers: 1780-1789, and Hispanic American Newspapers.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean islands.
Coverage: 1718-1876.
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)

Access Note: Vanderbilt and CRL member institutions. Coverage: 18th - 20th centuries.

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes Ladies' Home Journal, Harper's, and professional journals.
Coverage: 1740-1940.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Archive of rare historical journals that examine a variety of topical issues such as colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Coverage: 1685-1835.