Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RLST 3142: Slave Religion and Culture in the American South

Special Collections

Sepcial Collections

Collections of unusual or  scarce materials such as rare books, manuscripts, historical maps, drawings, paintings, photographs, etc., as well as the institution's own archives (alumni papers, professors' papers, university records) housed in a climate  controlled secured area.

Univ. Archives & Special Collections Research Guide

History of Medicine Collection @ Biomedical Library

Before You Go: Research Trip Planning

Vanderbilt Observer, 1882Special Collections owns approximately 700 manuscript collections on a variety of topics including civil rights, performing arts, astronomy and physics, and others.  The collections listed here are a select list of manuscript collections held by Vanderbilt Libraries. 

Special Collections Finding Aids.

For a list of all special collections by subject, please see the collections Subject List.

For a list of all the special collections by title, please see the collections Alphabetical List.

Please note that for the alphabetical and subject lists, a handful of items are owned by other libraries in the system even though most items belong to Special Collections.  If you are uncertain which library owns an item on the list contact Special Collections.

Off-Site

If the phrase "off-site" appears next to a collection title, then the collection is stored at our off-site facility.  Individual boxes will need to be requested for use in class and in the Special Collections Reading Room.  Due to limited storage on our hold shelf, only two boxes per person may be requested at a time from off-site storage.

Inventory Available

If the phrase "inventory available" appears next to a collection title, then a paper-based inventory is available for the collection.  To request a PDF of the inventory, please contact Special Collections for assistance.

Small Collection

If the phrase "small collection" appears next to a collection title, it contains less than one full box of material.  All other collections contain at least one full box of papers.

Thanks to Teresa Gray, Public Services Librarian, Special Collections, for compiling this manuscripts page.

LIbrary Special Collection Exhibit: Early Tennessee History

https://gallery.library.vanderbilt.edu/exhibits/american-legacies

Materials included in this come from the Stanley F. Horn and James Robertson collections held by Vanderbilt University Libraries Special Collections.  Manuscripts include the voices of Native Americans and discussion of African American slaves and slavery in Tennessee and Texas.

The Life of Sam Houston: the Hunter, Patriot, and Statesman of Texas