Finding Books, Articles & More! - ANTH 1111 - Climate Change and Culture - Bjork-James

Conquering Call Numbers!

I've got a call #, now what?

Click the link below for more information.

How to Read a Call Number

Books, Articles and More!

Vanderbilt University Library Search

Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:

Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles

Search Scope	What is included?	When should I use it?
Everything	Broadest search scope Results will include books and ebooks, articles, and media like DVDs	A great option when you are just beginning your research process. Use Everything when you want to survey the research landscape for your topic
Library Catalog	Focuses on VU owned items, physical and digital Results will include books and ebooks, and media like DVDs Digital collections like the TV News Archive will also be included in your results	You have defined your information needs Use Library Catalog when you are ready to create a tailored search for your topic
Articles	Content from selected VU databases Popular and scholarly articles	Use Articles to find popular and scholarly articles on your topic. The Articles scope does not search across all databases accessible to the Vanderbilt community. Not finding the articles you need or want more database options? Consult the Database A-Z

For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?

Keyword vs. Subject Searching

Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.

Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches.

Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.

A Selection of Useful Subject Headings

Pollution		Ecology

Air Pollution		Water Pollution

Climatic changes		Climatic changes Social aspects

Human Ecology		Environmental degradation

Offenses against the environment		Transboundary pollution

Human beings Effects of climate on		Sustainable development

The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes materials published in English and European languages from the late 19th century to the present. Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Journal articles, books, book chapters, such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
Coverage: 1940 to present.
Proquest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.
Coverage: index:1970 to present; full text: coverage varies. Vendor Tutorials: Training videos - http://help.lexisnexis.com/tabula-rasa/congressional/trainingvideos_ref-reference?lbu=US&locale=en_US&audience=all
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
Coverage: 1800s to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
International journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Web of Science Core Collection: Citation Indexes This link opens in a new window
Major journals across science disciplines. Complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Each citation includes a list of references cited in the source article.

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

Current News Sources

E&E News This link opens in a new window
Essential news for energy & environment professionals. Includes Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire and E&E News PM.
User Limit: Unlimited.
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers - Digital Microfilm This link opens in a new window
Digital replacement of microfilm for several major papers (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Tennessean, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post).
Access Note: You must click the "select" link to access the title.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Access Note: Personal account required for some functionality. User Limit: Unlimited.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
User Limit: 10 simultaneous users. Logs out after 15 minutes of inactivity.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Archive of foreign news translated into English. Newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports.
Coverage: 1995 - 2013.

Historical News Sources

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Includes: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

Need More Newspaper Options?

Research Databases in News and Newspapers

IMPORTANT: Streaming clips from the Television News Archive from off-campus requires the installation of the Pulse VPN service and the use of Duo Multi-Factor Authentication. You can find detailed information about the Pulse VPN and Duo as well as download files on Vanderbilt's Information Technology page: https://it.vanderbilt.edu/services/catalog/end-point_computing/network_access/remote-access/index.php

Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. All individual network evening news broadcasts since 1968 and special news-related programming since 1989.

Example 1: Book

To search for books use the Library Search Tool. You can search by author or title.

Conde Feitosa, L.

2013 The Archaeology of Gender, Love, and Sexuality in Pompeii. British Archaeological Reports. International Series 2533. Archaeopress, Oxford.

Example 2: Journal Article

Your first stop is the library search tool to see if we have a subscription to the journal. Search by the journal name. Once you access the journal, either online or in print, you'll be able to navigate to your specific article. ***The Everything and Articles search scopes will return individual articles in a search, however, it is not searching all of our subscriptions, so searching by the journal title is the safer bet.

Dolfini, A.

2013 The Gendered House. Exploring Domestic Space in Later Italian Prehistory. Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology 26(2): 131–157.

Example 3: Chapter from an edited Volume

The library search is definitely your friend. When searching for a chapter in an edited volume, remember you must search by the title of the work that contains the chapter or the editors of the work

Olson, K.

2014 Roman Sexuality and Gender. In Themes in Roman Society and Culture. An Introduction to Ancient Rome, edited by M. Gibbs, M. Nikolic, and P. Ripat, pp. 164–188. Oxford University Press, Oxford.