Maps - HIST 4960 - Majors Seminar: Space, Power, and History - Research Guides at Vanderbilt University

Maps at Vanderbilt

The Heard Library Map Collection is located in the Science and Engineering Library. The contact person is Richard Stringer-Hye.

Contact Info
Science & Engineering Library
Stevenson Center 3218
(615) 343-4395
(615) 343-7249 fax
Send Email

Onlime Map Sites

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Tennessee)

Large-scale landbook maps which includes information such as outline of each building, the size and shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors, street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information includes construction details, ownership and building use. Fire insurance maps of Tennessee.

Ancient World Mapping Center
Links and downloadable maps. From the University of North Carolina.
Civil War Maps, 1861 -1865
Searchable collection of U.S. Civil War maps from the U.S. Library of Congress.
Historical Maps
from the Rare Map Collection from the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia -- More than 800 historic maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century. North America, with emphasis on Georgia and the Southeast.
Map History / History of Cartography
"All the worthwhile information about old maps can be found here, or from here." Links to maps all over the world.
OldMapsOnline Portal
Searchable gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Historial maps and atlases from around the world from the University of Texas libraries.
David Rumsey Collection
The historical map collection contains over 30,000 maps and images with a focus on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American maps. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
WWW Virtual Library Historical Maps
Comprehensive listing of early map image sites on the web.
Worldmapper
Collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest. Contains about 700 maps.

Atlases

For historical atlases, search The Library Catalog using the keywords "historical atlas" and a geographic area.

HIST 4960 - Majors Seminar: Space, Power, and History: Maps

Maps at Vanderbilt

Onlime Map Sites

Atlases