HIST 4960 - Majors Seminar: Space, Power, and History: After 1900

Pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports, and in-depth oral histories reveal the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

Articles, audio clips, images, primary source documents, maps, monographs, and government documents covering all aspects of the African American experience from Greenwood Press, Negro University Press, etc.

• "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
• African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947
• Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
• Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
• Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
• Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation
• European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930
• Chinese Maritime Customs Service: The Customs’ Gazette, 1869-1913
• European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929
• European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929
• FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
• Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activitist, Political Activist, and Woman
• Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
• Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
• Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945
• Grassroots Civil Rights & Social Activism: FBI Files on Benjamin J. Davis, Jr
• Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party
• Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
• James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
• Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
• Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918
• Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935
• The Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council, 1854-1943
• Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
• Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945
• Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979
• Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
• Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
• Shanghai Municipal Council: The Municipal Gazette, 1908-1940
• Republic of New Afrika
• SUR, 1931-1992
• Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper Jackson

Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. Articles, political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and historical books in Spanish and English.

African American content compiled from many Proquest resources. Scholarly essays and journals articles, recent periodicals, historical newspapers, archival records, reference books, and films are included. Content sourced from the African American Biographical Dictionary, The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and many others for historical newspapers and archival records.

Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials.

• American Indians and the American West
• American Politics and Society 
• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
• International Relations and Military Conflicts
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
• Women's Studies 
• Workers and Labor Unions
 

Articles primary source documents, images, maps, charts, tables, and government documents from five Oxford University Press encyclopedias and reference sources. Also includes The African American National Biography.

Speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries based at Fisk University.

Digitized historical documents from the National Archives (UK) covering the national heritage and political development of many countries in the Middle East, the Balkans, the Caucasus, and Russia.

Research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. High level analysis and research on global events and issues.

Declassified government documents covering major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Cabinet meeting minutes, correspondence, diary entries, intelligence reports, political analyses and technical studies from the White House, State Department, National Security Agency, FBI, and CIA.

Full-text collection of declassified documents relating to U.S. foreign policy decisions from post-World War II to the present.

Official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.

Primary sources covering current events around the world.

Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials.

• American Indians and the American West
• American Politics and Society 
• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
• International Relations and Military Conflicts
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
• Women's Studies 
• Workers and Labor Unions
 

Historical and current working documents from the House of Commons and the House of Lords, including papers, debates, journals, bills, and acts. Also included are command papers, Hansard (Official Report of debates), and public petitions to Parliament.

Records and briefs brought before the US Supreme Court.

Complete UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) 7 and 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency.

Recordings and annotated transcripts of telephone conversations of Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon. Transcripts are searchable and browseable by administration, series, speaker, date, place, and duration.

U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Streaming video collection of primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of crimes against humanity.

Mainstream and alternative gay and lesbian newspapers, newsletters, and periodicals from several countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain, etc.

British primary sources providing a gendered perspective on social conduct, power distribution within the family, religion and morality, consumption and leisure, education of men and women, and perceptions of the body.

Monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Primary source materials from men’s and women’s organizations, advice literature, and etiquette books documenting women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, government and legislation, employment, education, the body, the family, and changing societal expectations about gender roles.

Alternative press journals, magazines, and newspapers covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, gays, lesbians, etc.

Document projects and archives, including book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools; organized around the history of women in social movements.

Finding aid to women’s studies resources in The National Archives (UK) and original documents covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories.

Digitized books, manuscripts, and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on the topic of women in the U. S. economy from 1800-1930.

Diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals. History of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.