News Sources
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
- African American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowExtensive African American newspaper archives. Includes the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, Freedom's Journal (NY), The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), etc.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowNewspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)
- Magazine Archives (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new windowCollection of popular magazine archives.
- News, Policy, & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchive of 15 major magazines (including Newsweek), spanning areas including history of politics, current events, international relations, and public policy.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSpecial interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes Ladies' Home Journal, Harper's, and professional journals.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- Economist (Historical Archive) This link opens in a new windowHistorical archive of The Economist. Primary source for politics, current affairs, business, and trade. Topic and area supplements and surveys.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
- Time Magazine Historical ArchiveFull-text access to issues from 1923 to 2000.
Vanderbilt is home to the Vanderbilt Television News Archive, the world's most extensive and complete archive of tv news, including tv news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. It includes items from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News, as well as news content from specials. You can search the TV News Archives via their website or the Library Catalog.
At the TV News Archive home page, click on "Advanced" Search (located directly below the search box). The computer searches in both the title and abstract.
On the Advanced Search page, right under the search box, you will see three options, "Word search", "Phrase Search", and "Boolean". Use the "Word Search". You can limit your search to a specific date range. This can be helpful when comparing the news from different decades.
Word Search:
The "Word Search" is the default advanced search and is usually the one you should use. In a word search, the computer matches only the items that have all the words in either the title or abstract, but the words do not have to be next to each other. The word search gay marriage returned 447 items. (Look at abstract in the record for Congress/Same Sex Marriage, NBC Evening News for Thursday, July 11, 1996)
Other Searches:
Phrase Search: In the "Phrase Search", the computer matches only the items that have the words together in either the title or abstract. The phrase search gay marriage returned 339 items. (Look at any record)
Boolean Search: Do NOT enter just gay marriage for a Boolean search. The default Boolean operator is 'or', so the computer returned 4505 items. Add a + (plus) in front of each word that must appear in the results. The Boolean search +gay +marriage returned 447 items (the same as the word search).
