Research Guides: HIST 4960: Majors Seminar: Topics in Pre-Modern Global Economic History: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases
HathiTrust

British History Online This link opens in a new window
Core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
Letter correspondence of five 15th century English families describing everyday life including discussions of advantageous marriages and inheritance, estate management, women and their role within the family, arguments between parents and children, births, deaths, politics, and community.
Coverage: 1400 - 1490.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China tell us much about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature, and science.
Coverage: 13th to 16th centuries.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
Executive papers and factory records of the East India Company charts the history of British trade with the East, politics, and the rise and fall of the British Empire.
Coverage: 1595 to 1947.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences, predominantly from the British Library. Secondary resources include scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy This link opens in a new window
Digital documents, including ebooks, relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
Coverage: Covers ancient times (BCE) to the present.

Gazetteer of Markets and Fairs in England and Wales to 1516
The Gazetteer is a catalogue of markets and fairs in medieval England and Wales.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews. Also: a directory of scholars, an online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, access to the journal Renaissance Quarterly, and the Baptisteria Sacra.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries, established in this repository to archive and share their digital content.
Access Note: VU is a partner institution. Login is required for downloading. Tutorial: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/HathiTrustAccess