It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To fully research your seminar paper, you may need to find information outside of the usual law sources, including statistics, policy positions, mental health guidelines, and other information not found on Westlaw, Lexis Advance, or Bloomberg Law. Often times, advocacy groups such as the ones mentioned throughout this LibGuide will have helpful materials. Another place you can find non-law materials are in other Vanderbilt University Databases. This page collects some resources that may be helpful when doing this type of research.
"The Annie E. Casey Foundation is a private charitable organization, dedicated to helping build better futures for disadvantaged children in the United States." Under the category "Our Work" is information on the foundation's juvenile justice initiatives. Also has a useful data center, Kids Count Data Center, that includes data on health, family, education, safety, and other topics.
"The CCLP is a public interest law and policy organization focused on reform of juvenile justice and other systems that affect troubled and at-risk children, and protection of the rights of children in those systems." The resources page includes a number of juvenile justice resources broken down by topic.
A national public interest law firm working to challenge laws, policies, or practices that harm children or to enforce children's rights. The Juvenile Law Center page includes a resources page with publications, fact sheets, and podcasts.
This page collects a great number of online resources having to do with juvenile justice. Included in this list are materials that focus on mental health, juveniles tried as adults, and juvenile court & case management.
Preventing and addressing juvenile crime and delinquency remain perennial issues in state legislatures. NCSL tracks state actions that work to prevent delinquency; provide treatment to meet the alcohol, drug and mental health needs of young people; address the confidentiality of juvenile records; and otherwise address how young people are distinguished from adult offenders. NCSL has resources tracking how states are addressing a U.S. Supreme Court ruling on juvenile life without parole sentences, including retroactive application.
NJDC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting justice for all children by ensuring excellence in juvenile defense. Resources include training materials geared towards strengthening juvenile defense that can be tailored for any jurisdiction. To improve the quality of and access to juvenile defense, NJDC also provides a wide range of resources aimed at juvenile defenders' courtroom practice or juvenile indigent defense reforms.
OJJDP is a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. "Juveniles in crisis - from serious, violent, and chronic offenders to victims of abuse and neglect - pose a challenge to the nation. Charged by Congress to meet this challenge, OJJDP collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices."
BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation to track the well-being of children in the United States. By providing high-quality data and trend analysis through its KIDS COUNT Data Center, the Foundation seeks to enrich local, state and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children — and to raise the visibility of children's issues through a nonpartisan, evidence-based lens. In addition to including data from the most trusted national resources, the KIDS COUNT Data Center draws from more than 50 KIDS COUNT state organizations that provide state and local data, as well publications providing insights into trends affecting child and family well-being. Through its National KIDS COUNT Project, the Foundation develops and distributes reports on important well-being issues. Much of the data from these nationally recognized publications, including the KIDS COUNT Data Book, are featured on the KIDS COUNT Data Center.
The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system. Developed for OJJDP by the National Center for Juvenile Justice, SBB provides timely and reliable statistical answers to the most frequently asked questions from policymakers, the media, and the general public. In addition, the data analysis and dissemination tools available through SBB give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.
Federal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
Coverage: From the U.S. government, 1973 to present; from international intergovernmental, 1983 to present.
Extensive selection of statistics for the United States, with selected data for regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, cities, and foreign countries from reports and records of government and private agencies.
Access Note: If prompted to select an account, select Vanderbilt University.
Vanderbilt has access to Oxford Handbooks in Psychology published since 2013 - more than 100 handbooks. Each handbook has about 20 to 30 articles by experts on a single area of psychology. The database is a good place to browse for research ideas.
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) • Criminal Justice Database • Education Database • ERIC • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) • PAIS Index • Political Science Database • PTSDpubs • Social Science Database • Social Services Abstracts • Sociological Abstracts • Sociology Database • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
APA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. Abstracts and index of serials publications, journal articles, dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
We have access to many non-legal databases through other Vanderbilt University libraries. To see the complete list of databases we have access to, go to the Vanderbilt University Libraries Databases page. If you are accessing these databases from off-campus you may be prompted to log-in using your VUNetID.
Some databases that might be particularly helpful:
Coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research.
News and periodical articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc.
Pro and con articles on important social, political, and economic issues. Reference articles that provide context, magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and links.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.