It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The John C. Hartford Collection: Supplemental Materials
This Wilson Music Library recently received the library of musician John Hartford. The collection contains over 1,500 items, including biographies of musicians, fiddle tune books, and books on the music of the South.
John Hartford, Pilot of a Steam Powered Aereo-Plain by Andrew Vaughan
Call Number: ML419 .H345 V3 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-29
This book provides an in-depth look at the creation of Hartford's ground-breaking album, "Aereo-Plain." It also includes an accompanying CD of a live performance by Hartford at the Ryman Auditorium on July 12, 1994 (CD MUS-16657).
Matt Meacham, Hartford [Harford], John, Grove Music Online, Oxford Music Online, Oxford University Press. NOTE: You must be a Vanderbilt affiliate to access this content from off-campus. Anyone can access this link from a computer in the Wilson Music Library.
John Hartford - John's official memorial website. The page includes links to John's Facebook page, Twitter feed, and YouTube channel.
The John Hartford Memorial Festival- Billed as "the most laid back festival in America," the Hartford Memorial Festival occurs in Bean Blossom, Indiana at the end of May. Held at the Bill Monroe Music Park and Campground, the festival features a variety of bluegrass and "newgrass" performers, fiddle and songwriting competitions, and fun for the whole family.
The John Hartford Collection of the St. Louis Mercantile Library - John Hartford is best-known for his music, but his other love was steamboats. At the age of 15, he got a job as a night watchman on the Delta Queen, and ultimately obtained his pilot's license. John developed a fine collection of books, scrapbooks, serials, ledgers, photographs, and other memorabilia related to steamboats in America. The collection was donated to the St. Louis Mercantile Library, part of the University of Missouri St. Louis library system.
Sound and Video Recordings:
John Hartford String Band, Memories of John, Compass Records 7 4539 2, compact disc, p2010, call no., CD MUS-13575.
John Hartford, Aereo-Plain/Morning Bugle: The Complete Warner Brothers Recordings, Real Gone Music RGM-0098, 2 compact discs, , call no. CD MUS-16746.
Jamie Hartford, Part of Your History: The Songs of John Hartford, New Sheriff 705, compact disc, , call no., CD MUS-16651.
Down from the Mountain: Live Concert Performances by the Artists and Musicians of "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" Lost Highway 088 170 221-2, compact disc, p2001, call no., CD MUS-5799.
A Tribute to John Hartford: Live from Mountain Stage, Blue Plate Music BPM 405, compact disc, c2001, call no., CD MUS-16753.
John Hartford, Gum Tree Canoe, Flying Fish 18964-0289-2, compact disc, p2001 (previously released 1984; tracks 11-12 previously unreleased), call no., CD MUS-16764.
John Hartford, Hamilton Ironworks, Rounder Records 82161-0442-2, compact disc, p2001, call no., CD MUS-16766.
O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack from the film, Lost Highway/Mercury 088 170 069-2, compact disc, p2000, call no., CD MUS-5566.
John Hartford, Live from Mountain Stage, Blue Plate Music BPM 401, compact disc, , call no., CD MUS-16752.
Bela Fleck, The Bluegrass Sessions: Tales from the Acoustic Planet, volume 2, Warner Bros. 9 47332-2, compact disc, p1999, call no., CD MUS-16770.
David Grisman, John Hartford, and Mike Seeger, Retrograss, Acoustic Disc ACD-37, compact disc, c1999, call no., CD MUS-16751.
John Hartford, The Speed of the Old Long Bow, Rounder CD 0438, compact disc, c1998, call no., CD MUS-16650.
John Hartford Fiddles Wild Hog in the Red Brush and a Bunch of Others You Might Not Have Heard, Rounder CD 0392, compact disc, c1996, call no., CD MUS-16750.
John Hartford, Mark Twang, Flying Fish FF70020, compact disc, c1989, call no., CD MUS-16772.
John Hartford, Me Oh My, How the Time Does Fly, Flying Fish FF 70440, compact disc, p1987, call no., CD MUS-16768.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.