Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The John C. Hartford Collection: Using the Collection

This Wilson Music Library recently received the library of musician John Hartford. The collection contains over 1,500 items, including biographies of musicians, fiddle tune books, and books on the music of the South.

Remembering John:

Using the Hartford Collection:

John Hartford had an incredible diversity of interests, and these are reflected in his collection. As a result, materials are housed in a variety of locations. Some are in the general circulating collection and can be checked out of the library by Vanderbilt affiliated users. Other materials, particularly those that are rare or in fragile condition, are stored in the Wilson Music Library's vault, and can only be used inside the library in designated areas. Since the collection was only recently received, it has not yet been fully processed. You can find materials that have been added to the general collection by doing a phrase search, "from the john c. hartford collection," in the Vanderbilt Library's catalog, Library Catalog. Wilson Music Library staff have access to the complete inventory of the collection, so please don't hesitate to ask a member of the staff for assistance - we are here to help!

Community Users and Researchers:

General Information:

The Wilson Music Library is open to the public during normal operating hours, and anyone interested in the life and work of John Hartford is welcome to use the collection. Non-Vanderbilt affiliates are unable to check materials out of the library, but may use them inside our facility. Access to items in the collection that have been placed in the Vault must be used in the area designated by library staff. If you want to listen or view audiovisiual materials, the Wilson Music Library has playback equipment and headphones to facilitate use. If you have specific questions related to the Hartford Collection, please contact the Director of the Wilson Music Library, Holling Smith-Borne.

Visitor Parking:

The parking lots directly adjacent to the Blair School of Music (103 and 104) are reserved for Vanderbilt permit holders and Pre-College families with a valid pass. Free parking is available in the West Garage (directly across the street from Blair) after 4:00 pm on weekdays and all day on the weekends. There are also metered parking spaces on Children's Way.

Subject Guide

Sara Manus's picture
Sara Manus
Contact:
Music Librarian for Education and Outreach / Anne Potter Wilson Music Library, 2134B / Blair School of Music / 2400 Blakemore Avenue, Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-8686
Website
Subjects:Music