Encyclopedias (A Sampling)
Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd. Ed.) by Publication Date: 1960–2005
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by Call Number: Divinity Library (Subject Study Area 3) DS35.53 .O96 2009ISBN: 9780195305135Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by ISBN: ISBN0028656032Publication Date: 2004This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Encyclopaedia of Sufism by Call Number: BP189 .E53 2003 (12 vols.)ISBN: 8126113111Publication Date: 2002
Bibliographies
There are bibliographies at the backs of books and articles -- and then there are full-book bibliographies. Some of the latter are listed here:
Oxford bibliographies online. Islamic studies by
Publication Date: 2010-
Index IslamicusPublication Date: 2003
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
Use Library Catalog, the library catalog, to find out what books and journals (but not journal articles -- see Finding Articles) Vanderbilt owns or provides access to.
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. (For variants on a word, use $ as a wildcard: e.g., hindu$ = hindu and hindus and hinduism, etc.)
Step 3: Pay attention to the subject headings in the Library Catalog record. These can be used to refine your search. (You may also want to try a SUBJECT begins with search in Library Catalog with your keywords.)
Get Fulltext - For Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
