Resources for China: a sampling
Online Reference Materials
- Berkshire encyclopedia of China : modern and historic views of the world's newest and oldest global power = [Zhonghua quan shu : kua yue li shi he xian dai, shen shi zui xin he zui gu lao de quan qiu da guo]Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from Adoption and Banking to Wound Literature and the Zhou Dynasty. Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China today.
- Brill's encyclopedia of ChinaA convenient thousand-page reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Arranged in alphabetical order, it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
- Brill Chinese-English Dictionary OnlineThe first Chinese-English dictionary devoted solely to the premodern language. Being a practical lexicon of more than 8,000 characters, arranged alphabetically by Pinyin romanization, it is meant to facilitate the reading and translating of historical, literary, and religious texts dating from approximately 500 BCE to 1000 CE.
- Buddhist Studies Authority Database ProjectConsists of four authority databases: calendars; personal names from Buddhist sources; place names from Buddhist sources; and Buddhist Tripitaka catalogues.
- Business guide to modern Chinaby Jon P. Alston and Stephen Yongxin He. Michigan State University Press, c1997.
- China: a guide to economic and political developmentsby Ian Jeffries. London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
- The Columbia guide to modern Chinese historyHistorical narrative. The decline of the traditional state, 1780-1901. Building state and nation amid cultural revolution, 1901-28. Social revolution: alternatives for state and nation, 1928-60. Economic disasters and miracles: 1960 to the present. Compendium of key events, terms, institutions, and figures. Resource guide Appendices. Chronology of key events, 1780 to the present. Documents. Major party congresses. Tables and figures on trends and developments.
- Encyclopedia of modern ChinaProvides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
- Historical dictionary of medieval ChinaThe history of medieval China is related through the book's introductory essay, maps, a table of Dynastic Periods, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on key people, historical geography, arts, institutions, events, and other important terms.
- Historical dictionary of the People's Republic of ChinaIncludes entries on individual topics spanning China's political, economic, and social system along with short biographies on important figures-from politicians to writers and movie directors-who have shaped Chinese history during the period of Communist rule from 1949 to 2006.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Chinese StudiesAuthoritative bibliographies on a wide variety of Chinese topics.
Print Reference Sources
Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature by
Focusing on Chinese literature from ca. 700 BCE to the early seventh century CE, this volume contain no less than 775 entries on major and minor writers, literary forms and 'schools' and important Chinese literary terms.
Call Number: PL2265 .A63 2010ISBN: 9789004180161Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The A to Z of the Chinese Cultural Revolution by ISBN: 9780810868700Publication Date: 2009-09-17
General Sources for Asian and South Asian Studies: a sampling
Dictionaries
Online Reference Materials
- Brill’s Encyclopedia of Hinduism OnlineAlso in print at the Divinity Library, Sub-Study 3 BL1105 .B75 2009.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Print Reference Materials
Conflict Between India and Pakistan by
This up-to-date encyclopedia examines the conflict between India and Pakistan from Independence to the present day, with an authoritative treatment that presents the issues evenhandedly and from both countries' perspectives. * Detailed entries deal with towns, cities, and geographic areas, including Jammu, Srinigar, and the Siachen Glacier; major figures involved in the conflict, including General Pervez Musharraf; the religious divide between Hindus and Muslims; and the dispute over Kashmir * A thorough chronology provides year-by-year treatment of the main issues in Indo-Pakistan relations
ISBN: 9781576077139Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of India by
Home to a fifth of the world's population and the largest democracy in the world, India holds a prominent place in current events yet remains unknown or misunderstood by many people who seek a single, authoritative source for information on this political and economic dynamo. The Encyclopedia of India meets this need, encompassing the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. As India's role in global politics and economics continues to grow, readers will find the wide range and depth of information contained within this work an indispensable tool to gaining a solid appreciation of India and its place in our modern world.
ISBN: 9780684313498Publication Date: 2005
Britannica guide to India : a comprehensive introduction to the world's fastest growing countryCall Number: DS435 .B75 2009ISBN: 9781845298203Publication Date: 2009
Contemporary North Korea by
This book provides full details of contemporary economic and political developments in North Korea since late 2005, continuing the overview of developments which were covered in the author's North Korea: A Guide to Economic and Political Developments(Routledge 2006). Key topics covered include: the succession; family visits; human rights; nuclear capability and intentions; recent initiatives in international relations, and relations with the United States; and adverse economic and social conditions. Overall, the book demonstrates the degree to which North Korea's international position is changing. This book provides a comprehensive overview of the current political and economic situation in North Korea today, and is an important resource for all those interested in this country's recent development.
ISBN: 9780415478670Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopaedia of Asian history
v. 1. Ladák : physcial, statistical and historical / Alexander Cunningham -- v.2. Java : with illustrations and vignettes / J.F. Scheltema -- v. 3. History of Burma / G.E. Harvey and R.C. Temple -- v. 4. History of Ceylon / M.G. Francis -- v. 5. A history of Afghanistan / Percy Sykes -- v. 6. China / D.C. Boulger -- v. 7. History of Corea : ancient and modern / John Ross -- v. 8. Sketches from Formosa / W. Campbell -- v. 9. The modern history of Japan / W.G. Beasley -- v. 10. The history of Kambujadesa (Modern Cambodia) / R.C. Majumdar -- v. 11. A history of Siam / W.A.R. Wood -- v. 12. A history of the Philippines / David P. Barrows -- v. 13. An historical, political and statistical account of Mauritius : and its dependencies / Charles Pridham -- v. 14. A history of Nepal : the country and its people / M.S.S. Singh and P.S. Gunanda -- v. 15. History of India / W.W. Hunter ; edited by Herbert Risley.
Call Number: Central Reference DS31 .E528 2008 v.1-v.15ISBN: 8130704528Publication Date: 2008-
Encyclopaedia of Nepal, Bhutan and TibetCall Number: CENTRAL Reference 4th floor DS485 .H6 K288 2007ISBN: 9788126133734Publication Date: 2007
