Alexander the Great
 |
|
Alexander the Great Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek |
Web Resources
- Classical Studies ResourcesThis guide highlights Classical Studies resources available at Vanderbilt and quality resources on the Web.
- DiotimaA resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world.
- Athenian Agora ExcavationsQuicktime site tours, excavation updates, images and other resources compiled by the American School of Classical Studies in Athens.
- Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related AreasAn international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric studies, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.
- Perseus Digital LibraryContains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.
- Perseus Digital LibraryContains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowGreek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Latin, Greek, and English texts.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
- ArachneArachne is the central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes. This combines an ongoing process of digitizing traditional documentation (stored on media which are both threatened by decay and largely unexplored) with the production of new digital object and graphic data.
Create a free user account to access the database - Classical Art Research Centre: The Beazley ArchiveAn amazing resource for the study of Classical Art, especially pottery. A rich collection of images, bibliographies, timelines, short essays and an online dictionary.
- Perseus Digital LibraryContains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.
Lapith Fighting Centaur
Lapith Fighting Centaur
South Metope 27, Parthenon ca. 447-433 B.C.E.
British Museum
Photo Credit: Marie-Lan Nguyen
