Essential Article Indexes and Databases for Women's & Gender Studies
Here is a selection of databases which have been found to have excellent interdisciplinary coverage of topics related to Gender & Sexuality Studies.
Note: These databases are available through a Vanderbilt Libraries' subscription. If you are not a current Vanderbilt student, faculty or staff member, you should consult with your local library for comparable databases.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
-
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowInternational literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts (plus more!), indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
Getting Fulltext Online
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the full text of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Finding more articles
Women's & Gender studies is an interdisciplinary field, with researchers from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities contributing to the field.
Therefore you could potentially find information on Women's & Gender studies in any article database/search engine.
For example if you are interested in health issues, you would want to use a health/medical database such as PubMed. If you were studying Women's & Gender studies issues across cultures you would probably want to search an Anthropology database such as Anthrosource.
Librarians at Vanderbilt have designated key databases for a variety of fields of study. To get started, go to Find articles & databases and choose the subject that is closest to the area of your research topic.
