Librarian
Ramona Romero
She, her, hers
Contact:
Central Library
800FN
800FN
615-343-4236
Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classics, Latin American Studies, Latinx Studies, Philosophy, Portuguese, Spanish
Welcome to the World of Library Research!
Connect to Library Resources Wherever You Are!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Work directly with a librarian!
- Email Ramona with a question
- Schedule an in-person or virtual meeting with Ramona for in-depth research help
- Need a quick and dirty answer? Connect to us via chat from any library webpage!
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia. Below is a selected list of online reference resources
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic coverage of the second millennium BCE to early medieval Europe; with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Also includes the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of ancient heritage, and the history of classical scholarship.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 220 titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies. Check out the Cambridge Companion to the Age of Augustus or the Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowConsult the following titles:
The Cambridge Ancient History
The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Warfare
The Cambridge Economic History of the Greco-Roman World
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0195300823
