Abbreviations & Call #'s
Dealing with Abbreviations!
Journal names are often abbreviated in bibliographies, and deciphering them can be quite a chore.
Below is an online abbreviation lists from the American Journal of Archaeology as well as a more comprehensive print resource in our reference collection.
-
Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines
Call Number: Central Reference 6th-flr Payne: PA99 .W44 2003ISBN: 0313321418
How to Read a Call #!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Books, Articles and More!
Vanderbilt University Library Catalog
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| VU Collections |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
Try a SUBJECT using one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:
| Archaeological Thefts | Cultural Property |
| Law and art | Cultural Property Protection |
| Elgin marbles | Cultural Property Repatriation |
| Museums Acquisitions | Antiquities Collection and preservation |
| Forgery of antiquities | Archaeology Moral and ethical aspects |
The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:
Art Databases
-
Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. Index of international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
-
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowResource for scholarly literature on western art, and successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
-
AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation LiteratureA comprehensive database of over 118,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Classics & Anthropology Databases
-
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
lndex for research in Classics. Entries cover articles, books, book reviews, Festschrifte, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes materials published in English and European languages from the late 19th century to the present. Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases.
-
AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowArchive of all journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association.
General Databases
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research database. Extensive coverage of law reviews and historical access to resources such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and US Supreme Court decisions. Legislative history and select foreign and international materials. Contains specialized libraries: intellectual property, taxation and economic reform, etc.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
-
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
-
Perseus Digital LibraryContains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images. Provides an Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser documenting 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings.
-
Classical Art Research Centre: The Beazley ArchiveAn amazing resource for the study of Classical Art, especially pottery. A rich collection of images, bibliographies, timelines, short essays and an online dictionary.
-
EuropeanaEuropeana.eu is about ideas and inspiration. It links you to 4.6 million digital items.
•Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
•Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
•Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
•Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.
-
Manar al-Athar: Free multi-media resource for the study of the Middle EastThe Manar al-Athar website, based at the University of Oxford, aims to provide high resolution, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication. These images of archaeological sites, with buildings and art, will cover the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, such as Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa and Spain. The chronological range is from Alexander the Great (i.e., from about 300 BC) through, the Islamic period to the present. It is the first website of its kind providing such material labelled jointly in both Arabic and English. We will also be publishing related material, both online and on paper, in English and Arabic.
Parthenon Marbles
 |
 |
Metopes, Parthenon Battle of the Lapiths & the Centaurs ca. 440 B.C.E. British Museum, London |
| Should Britain return the Parthenon Marbles? |
|
The Euphronios Krater
Repatriated to Italy from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
What Do I Need for an ILL Request?
All you need is your VUnet ID and password, and the citation information for the resource you are requesting. Just click on the link below and login to the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Need help? Ask a reference librarian!
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
What is Interlibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan or ILL (sometimes also called interloan, document delivery, or document supply etc.) is a service whereby a user of one library can borrow books or receive photocopies of documents that are owned by another library. The user makes a request with their local library (in this case Vanderbilt's Heard Library), which, acting as an intermediary, identifies owners of the desired item, places the request, receives the item, makes it available to the user, and arranges for its return.
Do I need to use ILL?
ILL is an optional service. Most undergraduates are able to complete their research assignments using the resources available at the Vanderbilt Libraries. Occasionally the resources you need for a research assignment will not be available. That's when ILL can come to the rescue.
Who can make an ILL request?
Vanderbilt faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
What can I request?
We can usually borrow from other libraries the kinds of materials that would circulate here: books and reprints, scores, proceedings, etc.. Microforms, newspaper back files, dissertations, and government documents often are available, but may need special handling. Periodical volumes, reference books, rare or fragile items, videotapes, and very old or very new imprints cannot normally be borrowed. We can request copies of journal articles and many other items that cannot be borrowed.
How long does it take?
Locating and receiving books and articles usually takes a few weeks or less, but sometimes takes several months or longer. Service may be slower during busy times, and we are limited in the number of items we can process at once for a single patron. You should try to determine your needs early, and time your requests to allow for delays and to avoid receiving more than you can use in the time allowed for loans. A good rule of thumb: Budget at least two weeks for receiving an ILL request.
What does it cost?
Absolutely Free!
Want to Find Books in Other Libraries?
Try WorldCat!
It contains more than 125 million records describing resources owned by U.S. libraries and libraries around the world.
-
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
HathiTrust has created the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), which will allow Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff online reading access to materials that Vanderbilt Libraries own in print during this period of remote teaching, learning, and research. Access is available until further notice.
**The print editions of books made available through HathiTrust ETAS will not be available for check out for the duration of our participation in the service.
Connect to books in HathiTrust directly from the Library Catalog:
Users need to click on the yellow Log in button and choose Vanderbilt University as their institution and then login with their VUnet ID and password to gain access.
Click the "Temporary access" link in the record to access the ebook and don't forget to click the "Check Out" button!
Some caveats:
- Not all print items available in our catalog are available in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust is providing reading access to Temporary Access titles
- The option to download the work in full is not available
- You will be able to “check out” materials for a limited time (60 minutes)
- There is an automatic renewal option available
- Access to items is 1-1; 1 copy on the member library shelf, 1 individual access to the digital copy; 2 copies, 2 concurrent users of the digital item.
- Print books made available in HathiTrust will not be allowed to circulate.
- Please contact the library for assistance.
