History Graduate Student Resources: Streaming Video

Streaming access to 37 BBC Shakespeare plays.

Virtual concert venue: live streams, concert archive, movies, and interviews.

Classical music channel offering broadcasts of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes.

Full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met's series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts, and radio broadcasts. Subtitles and synopsis.

Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.

Streaming performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Gull text of plays, their history of performance, production background, reference materials and ephemera. Plays are predominately 20th century and Shakespeare productions.

Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.

Classic collection of videos, providing faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a through grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses.

Primary sources, supporting materials, video, and archives, in disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Streaming access to documentary and social issue films from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, Collective Eye, and Icarus Films.

Audio recordings, videos, field notebooks, and journals document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe.

Oral history interviews with both well-known and unsung African American artists, business leaders, scientists, athletes, and intellectuals.

On-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).

Explores the dynamic period of social, political, and cultural change in the U.S. and U.K., covering such topics as music and television, the Vietnam war, student protests, the civil rights movement, and women's liberation. Includes the Social Protest Collection from UC Berkeley, a wide range of zines and alternative press publications, posters, and multimedia.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Streaming video collection of primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of crimes against humanity.

Covers WWII to 2000s. Includes U.S. Presidential debates from 1976 to 2012 along with other important speeches and historical events.