Research Guides: Strategy Research & Industry Analysis: Marketing and Market Research

Market Research Reports

These reports tend to be on a specific industry topic and can include a wide range of information from key players, trends, customers, etc. They are generally very expensive to buy individually.

MarketResearch.com Academic
Covers the following major industries and categories: business services, consumer goods, food and beverage, demographics, heavy industry, life sciences and technology and media.

Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Details on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.

Industry-Specific Market Research Reports

e-Marketer This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that focus on how e-commerce and the Internet affect business and industry. eStat section has statistics and graphs.
Coverage: Full access to the current and previous year's reports. Vendor Tutorials: eMarketer Total Access Demo Video - http://www.emarketer.com/docs/Multimedia/emarketer_total_access_demo_040611/emarketer_total_access_demo_040611.html
Forrester This link opens in a new window
Reports and analysis that focus on the business implications of technology change. Jupiter media research and analysis incorporated into Forrester. At the Forrester login screen, enter your Vanderbilt email address in the Business Email Address field without a password, then click the Log In button. You'll be prompted to enter your VU username and password. First time users will need to complete a brief registration form.
Access Note: License does not include direct access to Forrester analysts for research inquiries, please do not phone, write, or send e-mail inquiries. User Limit: 5.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
IT data and analysis: executive summaries, perspectives, research briefs, research notes, special reports on IT-related issues. Spotlights key technologies, products, trends, opportunities, vendors and products.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus. Please note that we have a limited subscription with Gartner that does not provide access to all areas of this database, particularly some of the specialized industry research.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Articles with news and market research information from sports industry sources. Includes market reports on international sporting goods equipment, college sports, endorsements, facilities, fan market profiles, financial reports, licensing, etc.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.

Market Share & Size

Business Source Complete
In the first search box, enter the phrase Market Share, then using the box to the right select SUBJECT TERM. In the second search line, enter the Company Name, then using the box to the right select COMPANY; or enter the Industry Name, then using the box to the right select SUBJECT, and then search.
more...less...
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
Factiva
Use the SUBJECT option to choose Market Share and then proceed with your search.
more...less...
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus. 10 simultaneous users. Factiva will also without warning logout users after 15 minutes of inactivity.

Demographics

Demographic and consumer statistical data can be used to better understand a market. Add an industry code or use a company name to narrow your search

DemographicsNow
Offers a variety of ready-made demographic data reports, which can be customized by geography. Identify patterns and trends regarding household expenditures, market penetration and location of goods and services.

e-Marketer This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that focus on how e-commerce and the Internet affect business and industry. eStat section has statistics and graphs.
Coverage: Full access to the current and previous year's reports. Vendor Tutorials: eMarketer Total Access Demo Video - http://www.emarketer.com/docs/Multimedia/emarketer_total_access_demo_040611/emarketer_total_access_demo_040611.html

Forrester
Analyzes the future of technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers and society. Provides a picture of the Internet economy through its research in Internet commerce, corporate technology, and consumer behavior.
more...less...
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off-campus. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Passport Euromonitor This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, providing industry information, consumer statistics and analysis, historical and forecast data, consumer trends and lifestyles, articles, company profiles, and global reports.

MarketResearch.com
Provides access to the fulltext of marketing studies produced by a variety of research firms. Information on demographics & markets. Requires individual registration.
more...less...
Only Owen students, faculty, and staff have access to this resource, both on and off-campus.
Mintel
Focuses on consumers in the U.S., U.K., European, and some Asian markets in consumer goods, leisure and travel, personal finances, technology and electronics, retail, clothing, and food and drink.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical census data and demographic information: US Census, American Community Survey, religious membership, carbon emissions data, etc. Customizable maps, charts, and reports.
User Limit: 3.

Marketing

Marketing information can come from many sources: company websites and reports, news articles, product announcements, etc. You may find that searching for the company and the keyword "market*" (the asterix is a wildcard and searches for Market, Markets, Marketing, etc.) will work. In addition, you may search for the company and specific products or services to glean marketing information.

ProQuest Business
Business Source Complete
Factiva
more...less...
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus. Limited to 10 simultaneous users. Factiva will also logout users after 15 minutes of inactivity without warning .