It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See important upcoming changes here. Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Access Note: Start your search by clicking "Enter Artstor Digital Library" in the upper right corner of the page. Authorized users may create a 120-day subscription enabling access to advanced features including downloading image sets to PowerPoint.
The current inventory of the Giza Library includes every Giza book and article by the members of the Harvard University–Boston Museum of Fine Arts Expedition (George Reisner, William Stevenson Smith, Dows Dunham, etc.), as well as every Egyptian and Nubian article ever published in the Bulletin of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston (BMFA). It also includes all volumes of the more recent Giza Mastabas Series, edited by Peter Der Manuelian and William Kelly Simpson. Finally, past and current scholarship is also well represented.
The Amarna Project is dedicated to the exploration and preservation of the ancient Egyptian site of Tell el-Amarna (or Amarna). Amarna was the short-lived capital built by the Pharaoh Akhenaten. The website contains texts about the site and the projects on the site, as well as maps and images. There is also an extensive bibliography of publications concerned with the site of Amarna.
This part of the main Louvre website is devoted to the collections of the Department of Egyptian Antiquities. It displays and describes many of the 5,000 works held at the museum, categorised in the following themes and time periods: Pharaonic civilisation; Egyptian religion; From the end of Prehistory up to the Middle Kingdom (circa 3800-circa 1550 BC); The New Kingdom (circa 1550-circa 1069 BC); The last pharaonic dynasties and the Ptolemaic epoch (circa 1069-30 BC); Roman Egypt; and Coptic Eg
This website, developed by UCL for the Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology as a learning and teaching resource for higher education, provides much information about ancient Egyptian culture especially useful to Egyptology students.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.