Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 1111 - Destruction of the Indies - Landers: Getting Started

Online References

The Heard Library System

'The Library' at Vanderbilt is made up of not one but nine libraries.  Each library has a special focus and together they make up the Heard Library system.

Biomedical           Management
Central Music
Divinity Peabody
Law Science & Engineering
Special Collections

A printable map of the library locations is available online.

TV News Archives

  

In addition to the nine campus libraries, Vanderbilt is home to the TV News Archives, the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news.

 You can search the TV News Archives via their website or Library Catalog. The footage can be viewed within the Central Library or at the TV News Archives office at 110 21st Ave. S., Suite 704.

 

Did you know...

AManagement Library bookdrops a Vanderbilt student you can borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections.)  

It's also good to know that you can return most of the items you've checked out to any of the campus libraries. For example, if you borrow a book from the Central Library you can return it to Peabody.

Also look for bookdrops outside the various libraries and at the Commons Center.

Undergraduate Libraries

Serving undergraduates is a primary mission for four of Vanderbilt's nine libraries.

Central Library

Central Library

  • Serves the College of Arts & Sciences
  • Collection emphasis on the Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Leisure Reading & Video collections
  • Phone: 322-2800

Science & Engineering Library

Stevenson Science & Engineering Library

  • Serves the College of Arts & Sciences and the School of Engineering
  • Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Earth & Environmental Science, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy and the various Engineering disciplines.
  • Open 24-hours weekdays during the regular semester (9:00AM Sunday - 10:00 p.m. Friday)

  • Phone: 322-2775

  • Reference: 322-2717
Peabody Library

 

Peabody Library

  • Serves the Peabody College of Education & Human Development
  • Learning Commons, a large, flexible group work space, and more than 40 computer workstations
  • Specialized Collections include Curriculum & Test Materials
  • Phone: 322-8095

 

Blair School of Music

 Anne Potter Wilson Music Library

  • Serves the Blair School of Music
  • Specialized collections of scores & sound recordings
  • Phone: 322-7695