Research Guides: Sociology Resources: Locate Newspaper and News Sources

U.S. Newspapers

African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
This database of eight African-American Newspapers provides information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and reports on major events and issues of the day. Newspapers are:
The Christian Recorder (1861–1902), The Colored American (1837–1841), Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863) , Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829), The National Era (1847–1860), The North Star (1847–1851), Provincial Freeman (1854–1857), Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
African American Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Primary source material for the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Includes: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Coverage: Varies by newspaper.
African American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new window
Extensive African American newspaper archives. Includes the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, Freedom's Journal (NY), The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), etc.
Coverage: 1827-1998.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers offers an unprecedented look back into the history of the United States—the story of its people, ideals, commerce, and everyday life. Includes the following collections: African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers: 1690-1789, Early American Newspapers: 1780-1789, and Hispanic American Newspapers.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. National and regional publications: African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.
Coverage: 1959-present
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Access Note: Personal account required for some functionality.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for 19th century US newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Access Note: Available only to Tennessee residents.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.

Microfilm Newspaper Collections

The Vanderbilt Central Library has a large collection of newspapers in microfilm format. Beware that most newspapers have NO INDEXING. The list is alphabetical by state, followed by alphabetical by country. Click on the link below for title, dates of coverage, and location information.

Newspapers on Microform