Research Guides: Statistics: U.S.: Websites

Websites for U.S. Statistics and Data

Business Librarian colleagues have shared the following Strategy for Finding Statistics and Data document via the ACRL (Association for College and Research Libraries) website:

STRATEGIES FOR FINDING STATISTICS AND DATA

The following websites are quality resources for data and statistics:

American Community Survey
Ongoing survey that provides data every year giving communities and businesses the current information they need to plan investments and services. Product of the U.S. Census Bureau.
American Religion Data Archives
Belmont Data Collaborative: Online Data Platform
Has aggregated community level data (Data Warehouse), a mapping visualization tool that pulls directly from the data warehouse (RoundTable), and are developing a collaboration tool (Relight – coming Fall 2022) that will allow individuals and teams to work together to try to solve complex community level problems .
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides economic data for the U.S., including data on international trade.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Although there is mostly domestic statistics, you will find some foreign labor statistics and import/export price indices.
Business Formation Statistics
The Business Formation Statistics (BFS) are an experimental data product of the U.S. Census Bureau developed in research collaboration with economists affiliated with Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, University of Maryland, and University of Notre Dame. The BFS provide timely and high frequency information on new business applications and formations in the United States.
CDC - Centers for Disease Control
Socioeconomic data on emerging economies.
County and Zip Code Business Patterns
Industry economic data by U.S. county or zip code.
Data.gov
Machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Energy Administration Information
U.S. direct investment abroad (and vice versa), international transactions, data on multinational companies.
Fed In Print
Provides access to research published by the Board of Governors and all 12 Federal Reserve Banks. Coverage includes the core economic reviews, as well as specialized regional and international publications, working papers, and annual report essays. Also included are selected speeches, community development publications, and conference papers.
FedStats
Statistics from more than 100 US government agencies.
FRASER
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research includes current and historical data and statistics on the U.S. economy.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
NTIS: National Technical Information Service
Mission: Provide innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence.
State Data Center (SDC) Clearinghouse
Census State Data Centers are statistical agencies, state demographers, and data-providing organizations from 56 states and U.S. territories. They partner with the Census Bureau to provide expert analysis, training, and extension of Census products and data in their respective states.
U.S. Cluster Mapping
Provides over 50 million open data records on industry clusters and regional business environments in the U.S. to promote economic growth and national competitiveness.
U.S. Department of Commerce
Bureau of Economic Analysis - GDP, personal incomes, corporate profits, state and local incomes, industry output, industry GDP.
USA.GOV: Statistics
Landing page that leads to statistics across many US government agencies.
USDA Agricultural Data and Statistics
Includes data from the Economic Research Service (ERS,) Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) and National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS.)
USDA Market Data
Comprehensive market and trade data research and reports. Users can utilize the numerous databases to search by product or country.
USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade Dataweb
U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information from the United States International Trade Commission.