Save Time! Let the Databases Do the Work!
- Citation BuildersYou don't need to create your citations from scratch! Use this guide from Western Illinois University Libraries to find out more.
Most library databases contain a link for each article labeled "cite" or "cite this." You can click on these links to get a pre-generated citation from the database.
REMEMBER! Citations from databases are machine-generated, and they can and do contain mistakes. Make sure you review your citations closely to make sure they contain no errors.
Finding Sources
The following databases will be of use for various topics related to your research:
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowArticles primary source documents, images, maps, charts, tables, and government documents from five Oxford University Press encyclopedias and reference sources. Also includes The African American National Biography.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
- Advanced Google SearchingThis guide created by Vanderbilt librarians will show you how to maximize your Google searching.
FindIt@VU
