Finding Scholarly Articles
The following databases will be of use for various topics related to your class:
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowImportant resources for locating scholarly articles on language and literature.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAcademic historical journals covering 1450 to the present.
- British History Online This link opens in a new windowCore printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowPrincipal index to articles on Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the US; journals on Latin American and Caribbean themes in the social sciences and humanities published in the Western world. Book reviews also indexed.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndex to academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is another tool you can use to search for scholarly literature online. Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
What Google Scholar does not contain, in most cases, is the fulltext of the articles -- but it does work with the library's Findit@VU service to help you get to the fulltext when available. If you are on campus, Findit@VU will automatically appear -- but if you are off campus it won't. Not clicking on Findit@VU may lead to you receiving a message indicating that you must purchase the article to view it.
Bookmark this link as your access point to Google Scholar to ensure that the Findit@VU links appears in your searches. Don't get caught paying for articles when you don't have to!
