Library SearchThis link opens in a new windowCheck out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Complex Cases and Comorbidity in Eating DisordersIn this book the authors share the strategies and procedures they use in their clinical daily practice to assess and treat complex cases of eating disorders. The strategic and pragmatic approach to the management of medical and psychiatric comorbidity coexisting with eating disorders, while relying on enhanced cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT-E) - an evidence-based treatment recommended for all eating disorder categories both in adults and adolescents-, can also be used by clinicians who adhere to different theoretical models. The book is divided into two main parts. Part I describes the eating disorder psychopathology and its consequences: an essential knowledge essential to understanding whether the patients have true comorbidity or spurious comorbidity. Then it gives an overview of CBT-E and how to implement it at different levels of care and in a multidisciplinary team. Part II illustrates the general strategies to address comorbidity in patients with eating disorders, and the specific strategies and procedures for managing the most common mental and general medical conditions coexisting with eating disorders. This volume is a valuable and useful tool for all clinicians - endocrinologists, nutritionists, dietitians, psychologists, psychiatrists - who deal with obesity and eating disorders.
Publication Date: 2021-03-27
Diet and Nutrition in Critical CareExpounds the latest treatments and procedures relating to diet & nutrition of the critically ill. Supports intensive and critical care specialists with indexed entries on diet and Nutrition. Examines evidence and provides expert guidance where evidence is lacking. Covers all manner of conditions that may arise in the critical or intensive care setting.
Publication Date: 2020
Dietary Interventions in Gastrointestinal DiseasesDietary Interventions in Gastrointestinal Diseases: Foods, Nutrients and Dietary Supplements provides valuable insights into the agents that affect metabolism and other health-related conditions in the gastrointestinal system. It provides nutritional treatment options for those suffering from gastrointestinal diseases including Crohn's Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Ulcerative Colitis and Allergies, among others. Information is presented on a variety of foods, including herbs, fruits, soy and olive oil, thus showing that changes in intake can change antioxidant and disease preventing non-nutrients and affect gastrointestinal health and/or disease promotion. This book serves as a valuable resource for biomedical researchers who focus on identifying the causes of gastrointestinal diseases and food scientists targeting health-related product development. Provides information on agents that affect metabolism and other health-related conditions in the gastrointestinal tract Explores the impact of composition, including differences based on country of origin and processing techniques to highlight compositional differences and their effect on the gastrointestinal tract Addresses the most positive results from dietary interventions using bioactive foods to impact gastrointestinal diseases, including reduction of inflammation and improved function of organs
Publication Date: 2019-01-10
Eating Disorders in Boys and MenBoys and men with eating disorders remain a population that is under-recognized and underserved within both research and clinical contexts. It has been well documented that boys and men with eating disorders often exhibit distinct clinical presentations with regard to core cognitive (e.g., body image) and behavioral (e.g., pathological exercise) symptoms. Such differences, along with the greater likelihood of muscularity-oriented disordered eating among boys and men, emphasize the importance of understanding and recognizing unique factors of clinical relevance within this population. This book reviews the most up-to-date research findings on eating disorders among boys and men, with an emphasis on clinically salient information across multiple domains. Five sections are included, with the first focused on a historical overview and the unique nature and prevalence of specific forms of eating disorder symptoms and body image concerns in boys and men. The second section details population-specific considerations for the diagnosis and assessment of eating disorders, body image concerns, and muscle dysmorphia in boys and men. The third section identifies unique concerns regarding medical complications and care in this population, including medical complications of appearance and performance-enhancing substances. The fourth section reviews current findings and considerations for eating disorder prevention and intervention for boys and men. The fifth section of the book focuses on specific populations (e.g., sexual minorities, gender minorities) and addresses sociocultural factors of particular relevance for eating disorders in boys and men (e.g., racial and ethnic considerations, cross-cultural considerations). The book then concludes with a concise overview of key takeaways and a focused summary of current evidence gaps and unanswered questions, as well as directions for future research. Written by experts in the field, Eating Disorders in Boys and Men is a comprehensive guide to an under-reported topic. It is an excellent resource for primary care physicians, adolescent medicine physicians, pediatricians, psychologists, clinical social workers, and any other professional conducting research with or providing clinical care for boys and men with eating disorders. It is also an excellent resource for students, residents, fellows, and trainees across various disciplines.
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Handbook of Nutrition and PregnancyThis easy to use text provides practitioners and researchers with a global view of current and emerging issues concerned with successful pregnancy outcomes and approaches that have been successful or show promise in ensuring a successful pregnancy. The fully updated and revised second edition expands its scope with topics not covered in the first edition including pregnancy and military service; sleep disorders during pregnancy; the gut microbiome during pregnancy and the newborn; requirement for vitamin D in pregnancy; the environment--contaminants and pregnancy; preeclampsia and new approaches to treatment; health disparities for whites, blacks, and teen pregnancies; depression in pregnancy--role of yoga; safe food handling for successful pregnancy outcome; relationship of epigenetics and diet in pregnancy; caffeine during pregnancy; polycystic ovary syndrome; US Hispanics and preterm births; celiac disease and pregnancy; cannabis use during pregnancy. The second edition of Handbook of Nutrition and Pregnancy will be a valuable resource for clinicians and other healthcare professionals who treat and counsel women of child-bearing age and pregnant women.
Publication Date: 2018-08-22
Lutz's Nutrition and Diet TherapyEmphasis on clinical applications. Nutrient recommendations and food label data, including updated DRIs. Cautions for unregulated supplements and descriptions of interactions of food, drug, and over-the-counter nutrients. Life cycle approach that includes screening tools and nutritional interventions for infants, children, adolescents, and mature adults, as well as pregnant and lactating women. Updated recommendations and food plans for weight control, clients with diabetes, HIV/AIDS, dysphasia, preventing heart disease, and other health concerns. Useful assessment tools and tables throughout, including Food Handling Guidelines, Labeling Regulations, Research Summaries, and Wellness Tips Coverage of nutria-genomics and genomics. "Teamwork" exercises focusing on nutritional documentation from different care providers, including dietitians, physical therapists, and speech therapists. "Dollars and Sense" feature highlighting which food costs or economic factors influence nutritional care.
Publication Date: 2018-10-04
Marathon Running: Physiology, Psychology, Nutrition and Training AspectsThe book contains recent research about physiology,psychology, nutrition and training aspects of Marathon Running of differentage, gender and performance level. The basic knowledge of marathon running withexplanations of the physiological and psychological mechanisms induced bymarathon training with the associated adaptations and subsequent improvedphysiological capacities are presented in a reader friendly format forresearchers and practitioners. The book includes a full range of usefulpractical knowledge, as well as trainings principles to guide the reader to runmarathon faster. After reading the book the reader is able to develop trainingplans and owns the knowledge about up-to-date scientific results in the fieldsof physiology, psychology, nutrition in marathon running.
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Nutrigenomics: How Science WorksThe fascinating area of Nutrigenomics describes this daily communication between our diet and our genome. This book describes how nutrition shapes human evolution and demonstrates its consequences for our susceptibility to diseases, such as diabetes and atherosclerosis. Inappropriate diet can yield stress for our cells, tissues and organs and then it is often associated with low-grade chronic inflammation. Overnutrition paired with physical inactivity leads to overweight and obesity and results in increased burden for a body that originally was adapted for a life in the savannahs of East Africa. Therefore, this textbook does not discuss a theoretical topic in science, but it talks about real life and our life-long “chat” with diet. We are all food consumers, thus each of us is concerned by the topic of this book and should be aware of its mechanisms. The purpose of this book is to provide an overview on the principles of nutrigenomics and their relation to health or disease. The content of this book is based on the lecture course “Nutrigenomics”, which is held since 2003 once per year by Prof. Carlberg at the University of Eastern Finland in Kuopio. The book represents an updated but simplified version of our textbook “Nutrigenomics” (ISBN 978-3-319-30413-7). Besides its value as a textbook, “Nutrigenomics: how science works” will be a useful reference for individuals working in biomedicine.
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of DiseaseNutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease, Fourth Edition, is a compilation of current knowledge in clinical nutrition and an overview of the rationale and science base of its application to practice in the prevention and treatment of disease. In its fourth edition, this text continues the tradition of incorporating new discoveries and methods related to this important area of research Generating and analyzing data that summarize dietary intake and its association with disease are valuable tasks in treating disease and developing disease prevention strategies. Well-founded medical nutrition therapies can minimize disease development and related complications. Providing scientifically sound, creative, and effective nutrition interventions is both challenging and rewarding.
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
Role of Nutrients in Neurological DisordersDiscusses the role of nutrients in combating neurological disorders. Presents dietary mechanism for the prevention of cognition in neurological disorders. Reviews the effect of nutrition on neurotransmitter diseases
Publication Date: 2022
Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and NutritionThe latest edition of this textbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of the major issues specific to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition. The textbook begins with a section on gastroenterology and nutrition that presents the overall scope of issues encountered in children suffering from disorders of the gastrointestinal tract, pancreas, and/or presenting nutritional issues, as well as current and future prospects on the use of prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics. The second section is centered around hepatology, reviewing congenital and acquired disorders of the biliary tract and liver, as well as analyzing available diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and future perspectives. Written by experts in the field, Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide, Second Edition is an indispensable resource for students, trainees, and clinicians, sure to distinguish itself as the definitive reference on this topic.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.