HART3810W: Exhibiting Historical Art-20th Century Abstraction

American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.

Digital Imaging Project: Art historical images of European and North American architecture and sculpture from Greece to Post-Modernism

Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community.

Virtual gallery of classic and contemporary painting, sculpture, as well as art critique, reviews, and links.

Founded in 1972, Bridgeman Images works with museums, galleries, collections and artists to provide a central resource of fine art and archive footage for reproduction to creative professionals. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections.

support scholarship in Byzantine Studies by preserving and providing access to images of art, architecture, and archaeology in a variety of media and other archival collections that document fieldwork and research projects at Byzantine sites and monuments. ICFA is also the repository for the Pre-Columbian Photographs and Fieldwork Archives and Garden and Landscape Photographs and Design Archives.

Europeana.eu is about ideas and inspiration. It links you to 4.6 million digital items.
•Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
•Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
•Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
•Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.

Flickr is home to over five billion of the world’s photos.

In 1995, Mark Getty and Jonathan Klein founded Getty Images to bring the fragmented stock photography business into the digital age. And that's exactly what they did. We were the first company to license imagery online - and have continued to drive the industry forward with breakthrough licensing models, digital media management tools and a comprehensive offering of creative and editorial imagery, microstock, footage and music. (Not affiliated with the Getty Museum).

The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections...

American Memory digital library context

The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.

With over 75 years in the art publishing business, New York Graphic Society Publishing Group bring to you a diverse collection of art from four dynamic divisions—New York Graphic Society, Portfolio Graphics, Opus One Collection and Shorewood Fine Art Reproductions.

Provides free and open access to over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Openly licensed datasets from several cultural institutions. All collections provide digital scans or photos that can be freely used without any restrictions.

Search over 7.7 million catalog records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

Search the Collections is a working database that we are building continuously. You can search over a million records. Some records have minimal information; others are very detailed. Some have high quality photographs; some have more basic images; others have yet to be photographed.

VIA (Visual Information Access) is a growing online union catalog documenting the arts, material culture, and social history. VIA contains descriptive records and images representing paintings, sculpture, photography, drawings, prints, architecture, decorative arts, trade cards, rubbings, theater designs, maps and plans. Participating repositories include archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. New material is added to VIA daily.

Jacques-Édouard Berger (1945-1993), a leader of cultural trips to Europe, Egypt, United States and Near and Far East ( he had brought back over 100,000 pictures, for purposes of courses and lectures ( 'On Behalf of Art' ), was also a passionate collector of Art. After his death, the Fondation Jacques-Edouard Berger deposited his very important collections with the City of Lausanne (Switzerland) with a view to their installation in the Musée de design et d'arts appliqués contemporains (mudac).