Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RLST 1111 - Buddhist Literature from Buddha to the Beats - McNicholl: Primary Sources

Bibliographies

There are bibliographies at the backs of books and articles -- and then there are full-length bibliographies. Oxford Bibliographies:  Buddhism is a really good full-length bibliography.

 

Articles that may be of interest:

 

Another useful bibliography is the H-Buddhism Bibliography Project.  You can search it or navigate it by tags from the Items pageHere's what's in the bibliography for hagiography.

Need help reading bibliographic citations?  Browse to the Understanding Citations and Finding Items research guide.

What's This Number?

Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog?  or where to find the book in the library? 

Another Way to Find Primary Sources

Besides using Oxford Bibliographies, you can also do searches in the library catalog.

  • If you know a title or author (e.g., Journey to the West, Jack Kerouac), you can search for one of those.  Use the Advanced Search so that you can narrow by title or author.
  • For pre-1800 primary sources on Buddhism, choose the Advanced Search:

 

 

Enter buddhism early works to 1800 in a search field.  Make sure you select "VU Collections" above the search fields and "Subject" from the dropdown next to the search field.  Do the search.

 

 

 

Scroll down to see your results.