Finding Sources

Have you scheduled your research consultation yet?

Take advantage of one of the most useful and time-saving services the Library offers: personalized, one-on-one research consultations!

Consultations are driven by YOUR needs, the needs of the researcher. I can help you:

Find the best sources and resources related to your topic, whether they are books, journal articles, databases, or more.
Master the Library’s search tools so you can find what you’re looking for effectively and efficiently.
Discover sources you may have missed in your research so far to make sure you leave no stone unturned.

To schedule your consult, use the online scheduler!

The following databases will be of use for your research:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The key database for Psychology.
Coverage: 1800s to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Articles in the medical literature, including many aspects of psychology. A particularly helpful feature is the ability to find "Related Articles."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A great source for scholarly, peer reviewed articles in many areas. Including Psychology.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus. You can set up your own personal profile which will enable you to save searches and create alerts for new issues.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, newspapers, and science and technology.

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

I know how to use Google Scholar, so why would I use a database?

A database often has articles and information that are for a specific subject. Examples include EconLit (Economics), Sociological Abstracts (Sociology), Education Full Text (Education), PsycINFO (Psychology). Plus, databases often have more detailed search interfaces that let you be more precise in your searching. An example is limiting to scholarly, peer reviewed articles.

Google Scholar is a helpful research tool, but it searches many subjects at once. Consider using it along with a subject specific database.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."

What Google Scholar does not contain, in most cases, is the fulltext of the articles -- but it does work with the library's Findit@VU service to help you get to the fulltext when available. If you are on campus, Findit@VU will automatically appear -- but if you are off campus it won't. Not clicking on Findit@VU may lead to you receiving a message indicating that you must purchase the article to view it.

Bookmark this link as your access point to Google Scholar to ensure that the Findit@VU links appears in your searches or follow the instructions for setting your preferences in the video below. Don't get caught paying for articles when you don't have to!

Library Catalog
A tool that lets you search many resources at once. It includes articles as well as books you can find in the library.

Keyword vs. Subject Searching

Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.

Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches.

Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.