-
- Research Guides
About Special Collections
Special Collections supplies primary resource material to a variety of local, national, and international scholars each year. It houses one of the finest twentieth-century Southern literature collections in the United States and is the center for the study of the Fugitive and Agrarian literary groups. Other popular subjects include Southern history and culture, women’s issues, civil rights, religious studies, performing arts, and Latin American history, especially Colombian and Afro-Colombian history. We are also the curators of the W.T. Bandy Center for Baudelaire and Modern French Studies book and manuscript collection. For more information about all our primary source collections, please see our Collections Overview and our database of manuscript collections.
We are located at 1101 19th Avenue South, next to the Wesley Parking Garage. We are open Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST. View our full schedule for holidays or scheduled closures.
Requesting Books
Books In Special Collections and University Archives and the History of Medicine libraries can be requested for use in their reading rooms through the library catalog. To request a title for use:
Visit the library catalog and search for a book in the catalog. Click on the title to open the item record.
Scroll down to Location. If more than one library owns the title, select the Special Collections copy and click Request for On Site Use.
Log using your ID and password. If you have not registered for an account before, you will be prompted to register and then taken to the item request form.
Fill in any missing fields which aren’t migrated from the catalog. Be sure to complete all required fields.
To tag a resource for a project or other research use, complete the Researcher Tags field using commas to separate terms.
Select the date you want to visit to view the item.
Please give staff at least 48 hours for off-site retrieval.
Please note that appointments must be confirmed by staff. Contact the library if you need assistance.
Click the Submit Request button to complete your request.
