Get Fulltext - For Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
A FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Finding Scholarly Articles
These are a few databases that may be helpful to find secondary, scholarly, and peer-reviewed sources.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
-
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
-
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. Articles, political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and historical books in Spanish and English.
-
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowPrincipal index to articles on Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the US; journals on Latin American and Caribbean themes in the social sciences and humanities published in the Western world. Book reviews also indexed.
-
SciELO Scientific Electronic Library Online (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.
Film Databases
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowBibliographical index covering academic and popular film journals. Includes: "International Index to Film Periodicals," "Treasures from Film Archives," and "Documentation Collections."
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
-
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.
-
Entertainment Industry Archive This link opens in a new windowA resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. This collection includes trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles
