Conquering Call Numbers!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Recommended Resources
Compiled list of recommended library materials, including books, articles, newspapers, films, and more! These resources will be great for starting your search for quality resources related to your chosen topic.
When browsing these resources, you can use keywords and subject headings related to your topic to see if a source has any relevant materials.
If none of these resources work for your topic, you can go to the Troubleshooting page to help adjust your search, or go to library.vanderbilt.edu to search across the entire university library collections.
- Library Catalog
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Icon "Find book" courtesy of Gregor Cresnar from the Noun Project.
American Public Opinion and Health Care by ISBN: 1608712508Publication Date: 2010-01-01Objective analysis and comprehensive data on Americans' attitudes about key health-care issues. Over the years, hundreds of polls have been conducted on health and health-care related topics, but until now there has been no reference tool to help students, researchers, and policy makers make sense of the data. American Public Opinion and Health Care brings together findings from more than 200 national opinion surveys conducted by the Kaiser Family Foundation, Harvard University's School of Public Health, and other institutes and polling and media organizations.
Health Economics by ISBN: 9781315169729Publication Date: 2020-05-04Health Economics: An International Perspective is the only textbook to provide a truly international, comparative treatment of health economics. This edition features an expanded introduction, providing better grounding for many of the examples that come in subsequent chapters and making it easier for non-health care experts to see the links between the theory, the examples and the health care system components.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: authoritative coverage of literature related to nursing and allied health professionals.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes working papers which have been licensed from the Cambridge University Press.
- ERIC (ProQuest version) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature.
- Medline (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowUS National Library of Medicine premier life sciences database. Biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers and Publications This link opens in a new windowNational Bureau of Economic Research makes results of research available in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before publication.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service: journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, etc. covering issues in the public debate.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scientific, business, technical and medical journals and books, including pre-pub and open access content. The back file of the Business collection is an invaluable archival source for business research.
- World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
Books, journal articles, and working papers on social and economic development. World Bank flagship and annual publications, data, regional and thematic series, training manuals and handbooks, etc.
- EIU Country Report.Country Report (1996 - present) - each quarterly main report analyzes key political and economic changes in recent months and includes a two-year forecast. Monthly updates for larger countries.
Country Profile (1996 - 2008) - annual profile of a country's economic and political background and situation. *Discontinued February 2009; see Country Report after 2008.* - IMF Country Profiles.Financial & economic information on the IMF's 185 member countries, usually back to 1997.
- World Bank Country Profiles.Overview of economic conditions with forecasts, projects & programs, research, news & views, and data.
- ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Social science data for research and instruction along with access to special topic archives sponsored by agencies outside ICPSR, including the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data & the International Archive of Education Data.
- IMF eLibrary - Data This link opens in a new windowInternational statistics related to domestic and international finance. International payments, rates of inflation & deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, monetary policy, interest rates, etc. Includes Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Trade and Investment, and International Financial Statistics (IFS).
- CDC National Center for Health StatisticsProvides population surveys, provider surveys, vital records, FastStats, publications, and more.
- Commonwealth FundProvides research, publications, and data on the Affordable Care Act, COVID-19, health care coverage & access, Medicaid expansion, Medicare, prescription drugs, state health policy, and more.
- IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
- UNdataThis portal combines 34 databases and covers agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, population, refugees, trade, tourism, and more. Includes access to the Millennium Development Goals (MDG) Database.
- World Development Indicators | World BankThe primary collection of economic & social development indicators for over 200 countries from 1960 to present; Updated quarterly. Includes national, regional and global estimates. Good resource for social data.
- World Health Organization (WHO)The Global Health Observatory is a repository of health statistics. Data can be viewed and downloaded on specific health topics at country, regional and global levels. The GHO map gallery includes maps on major health topics.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping tool that provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Create, save, download, customized maps and tables, or upload your own data to map.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical census data and demographic information: US Census, American Community Survey, religious membership, carbon emissions data, etc. Customizable maps, charts, and reports.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing variables.
Other LibGuides for more in-depth GIS information:
What is Interlibrary loan (ILL?)
- A free service for requesting materials that are not available at Vanderbilt.
- Facilitates access to books, journal articles, and other items that a library would typically loan like theses and DVDs.
How long does it take?
- Journal articles: Requests are usually filled in 48 hours, but budget 3 business days to be safe.
- Books: Requests can take anywhere from 1-2 weeks. Rare or hard to find items may take longer.
Who can make an ILL request?
- Vanderbilt faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
How do I submit a request?
- Login to your ILL account with your VUnet ID and password and select the appropriate request form from the New Requests menu.
- Or, initiate your request from the library catalog using the link available in the "How to get it" section of the item record.
- Please provide as much detailed information as possible about the item you are requesting.
- If available, please provide the following:
- An ISBN number for book requests
- A DOI number for journal article requests.
- If available, please provide the following:
Who do I contact if I have a problem or question about my request?
- ILL is a service provided by the Resource Sharing Services department at the Vanderbilt Libraries
- Contact Resource Sharing Services
What is scan and deliver?
- A free service for requesting book chapter and article scans from print books and journals available at Vanderbilt.
- You can also request scans for content available on microfilm.
- Sometimes also called document delivery.
How long does it take?
- All requests are usually fulfilled within 3 business days.
How do I submit a request?
- Start your request by searching for your item in the Library Catalog.
- Don't forget to sign into your Library Account, just look for yellow bar for the sign in link.
- Don't forget to sign into your Library Account, just look for yellow bar for the sign in link.
- After logging in, you should see a Request chapter/article scan link in the Location Items section of the record
- The Request chapter/article scan link will prompt you to login to your resource sharing account using your VUnet ID.
- The request form will auto-populate with basic information about the source material. Please supplement additional details
- Article/ chapter title.
- Page numbers.
- Year and volume and issue numbers for journal articles.
- Please include as much detail as possible to help us locate the correct sections needing to be scanned.
Is there a page limit for scans?
- Individual requests should be 100 pages or less.
- Please note that we are unable to scan entire books due to our page limit as well as copyright restrictions.
Who do I contact if I have a problem or question about my request?
- Scan and deliver is a service provided by the Resource Sharing Services department at the Vanderbilt Libraries
- Contact Resource Sharing Services
