Your GSS Librarian
Recommended Starting Resources
Compiled list of recommended library materials, including books, articles, newspapers, films, and more! These resources will be great for starting your search for quality information related to your chosen topic.
When browsing these resources, you can use your search string to see if a source has any relevant materials.
If none of these resources work for your topic, you can go to the Troubleshooting page to help adjust your search, or go to library.vanderbilt.edu to search across the entire university library collections.
-
Library Catalog
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Icon "Find book" courtesy of Gregor Cresnar from the Noun Project.
-
The Routledge International Handbook on Femicide and Feminicide
by
ISBN: 9781000869439Publication Date: 2023-05-31This volume explores in depth femicide and feminicide, bringing together our current knowledge on this phenomenon and its prevention. No country is free from femicide/feminicide, which represents the tip of the iceberg in male violence against women and girls. Therefore, it is crucial and timely to better understand how states and their citizens are experiencing and responding to femicide/feminicide globally. Through the work of internationally recognised feminist and grassroots activists, researchers, and academics from around the world, this handbook offers the first in-depth, global examination of the growing social movement to address femicide and feminicide.
-
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service: journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, etc. covering issues in the public debate.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
-
World Cities This link opens in a new windowFull text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s top cities, capital cities with populations greater than 20,000 people, major cities in the Global South, and cities with particular research importance - such as those dealing with climate change, political instability, or rapid growth.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
-
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
-
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
• Criminal Justice Database
• Education Database
• ERIC
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
• PAIS Index
• Political Science Database
• PTSDpubs
• Social Science Database
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Sociology Database
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
-
Gender Equality Observatory for Latin America & the CaribbeanThe Gender Equality Observatory of Latin America and the Caribbean is a tool whose purpose is to make available official information from the countries of the region, offer resources to formulate public policies and facilitate the monitoring of international agreements on women and girls' rights. Includes gender statistics and indicators.
-
Data Against FeminicideData Against Feminicide (DCF) is a South-North participatory action research and design project that supports the work of activists and civil society organizations that produce data on gender-related violence and its most lethal expression: feminicide.
-
United Nations Femicide Watch InitiativeSince 2016, each November, in advance of the International Day on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, the Special Rapporteur has called on different stakeholders—including States, National Human Rights Institutions, civil society, as well as members of academia—to submit data on gender based killings and femicide.
-
Data + Feminism Lab MITThe Data + Feminism Lab uses data and computational methods to work towards gender and racial justice, particularly as they relate to space and place.
-
Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowUS and global polling data, new and historical, at the city, state, and national level. Microdata is available upon request. Please visit this resource guide to learn more about available data and to request access.
-
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowFederal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Quantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Please note: To access the eCommerce Insights module within Statista, click Insights > Explore eCommerce Insights and then click Login from at the top right of the screen.
-
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping tool that provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Create, save, download, customized maps and tables, or upload your own data to map.
-
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services are available free of charge.
-
ICPSR Data LumosDataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
-
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new windowMainstream and alternative gay and lesbian newspapers, newsletters, and periodicals from several countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain, etc.
-
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials from men’s and women’s organizations, advice literature, and etiquette books documenting women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, government and legislation, employment, education, the body, the family, and changing societal expectations about gender roles.
-
Everyday Life and Women In America This link opens in a new windowMonographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Alternative press journals, magazines, and newspapers covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, gays, lesbians, etc.
-
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
-
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowDiaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals. History of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
-
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowThe world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. All individual network evening news broadcasts since 1968 and special news-related programming since 1989.
-
Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new windowCorrespondence, research papers, and records from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities, and sexual behaviors.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowThe world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. All individual network evening news broadcasts since 1968 and special news-related programming since 1989.
What is Interlibrary loan (ILL?)
- A free service for requesting materials that are not available at Vanderbilt.
- Facilitates access to books, journal articles, and other items that a library would typically loan like theses and DVDs.
How long does it take?
- Journal articles: Requests are usually filled in 48 hours, but budget 3 business days to be safe.
- Books: Requests can take anywhere from 1-2 weeks. Rare or hard to find items may take longer.
Who can make an ILL request?
- Vanderbilt faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
How do I submit a request?
- Login to your ILL account with your VUnet ID and password and select the appropriate request form from the New Requests menu.
- Or, initiate your request from the library catalog using the link available in the "How to get it" section of the item record.
- Please provide as much detailed information as possible about the item you are requesting.
- If available, please provide the following:
- An ISBN number for book requests
- A DOI number for journal article requests.
- If available, please provide the following:
Who do I contact if I have a problem or question about my request?
- ILL is a service provided by the Resource Sharing Services department at the Vanderbilt Libraries
- Contact Resource Sharing Services
What is scan and deliver?
- A free service for requesting book chapter and article scans from print books and journals available at Vanderbilt.
- You can also request scans for content available on microfilm.
- Sometimes also called document delivery.
How long does it take?
- All requests are usually fulfilled within 3 business days.
How do I submit a request?
- Start your request by searching for your item in the Library Catalog.
- Don't forget to sign into your Library Account, just look for yellow bar for the sign in link.
- Don't forget to sign into your Library Account, just look for yellow bar for the sign in link.
- After logging in, you should see a Request chapter/article scan link in the Location Items section of the record
- The Request chapter/article scan link will prompt you to login to your resource sharing account using your VUnet ID.
- The request form will auto-populate with basic information about the source material. Please supplement additional details
- Article/ chapter title.
- Page numbers.
- Year and volume and issue numbers for journal articles.
- Please include as much detail as possible to help us locate the correct sections needing to be scanned.
Is there a page limit for scans?
- Individual requests should be 100 pages or less.
- Please note that we are unable to scan entire books due to our page limit as well as copyright restrictions.
Who do I contact if I have a problem or question about my request?
- Scan and deliver is a service provided by the Resource Sharing Services department at the Vanderbilt Libraries
- Contact Resource Sharing Services
