Television News Archive-Vanderbilt University
- TV News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
Special Collections and University Archives
- Special Collections and University ArchivesSpecial Collections and University Archives is the repository for rare books, manuscripts, and university archives on the Vanderbilt campus.
Databases:
- Internet ArchiveInternet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- Library of CongressHome page for the Library of Congress. Explore their digital collections, search their catalog, and learn more about their programs.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries, established in this repository to archive and share their digital content.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Abstracts of material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. Includes illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing, performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy.
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowResource for scholarly literature on western art, and successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. Index of international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Abstracts of material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. Includes illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing, performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy.
Newspapers:
- Newspapers.com Library Edition - Southeast Collection This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers archive containing thousands of regional, state, and small local newspapers from the southeastern U.S.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
First-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the Wall Street Journal from ProQuest.
Archives:
- LOC Digital CollectionsAccess online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
- NYPL Archives and ManuscriptsThe New York Public Library holds nearly 10,000 archival and manuscript collections comprising over 50,000 linear feet of material in nearly every format imaginable. They preserve evidence (often unique and unpublished) of human activity and achievement that forms a basis for the study of political, social, economic, and cultural history. Each year, these collections inform and inspire the work of scholars, writers, artists, filmmakers, family historians, and other advanced researchers who seek and then share the new knowledge and perspectives revealed to them through these resources.
- SAHARA: Society of Architectural Historians Architecture Resources Archivedeveloped by the SAH and Artstor with funding by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Images are contributed by SAH members: architects, scholars, photographers, graduate students, preservationists, and others who share an interest in the built environment.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
