Primary Sources
- BotanicusAccess to historic literature, botanical dictionaries, etc.
- EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowDigital images of books published during the 18th Century.
- Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. History, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, etc.
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new windowPamphlets about Brazil, focused on history, politics and literature (for example: travel, immigration, public health).
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Wiley Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Unique or rare historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world, and made accessible in ways that tie directly to research outcomes and educational goals. Contains tools for searching, browsing, analyzing and visualizing primary source content.
Early Accounts
- Historia general de las cosas de Nueva Espana (Codice florentino byCall Number: Spec Coll Remote F1219 .S1316 1979 (3 vols.)Includes descriptions and illustrations of early plants and their medicinal uses. Ethnographic study from 16th century Mesoamerica.
- Digital Florentine Codex (Getty)Digital version of Florentine Codex of Spanish and Nahuatl and English translation. Includes images.
- Matricula de TributosCall Number: Spec Coll Offsite F1219 .C7547 1980Facsimile of early tribute roll for the Aztec empire.
Flora de la Real Expedicion Botanica del Nuevo Reyno de GranadaCall Number: Spec Coll Offsite QK265 .R4Publication Date: 1954-Facsimile of plates and text of the Mutis royal botanical expedition to Colombia.
