The Famous 1938 Carnegie Hall Jazz Concert
In January of 1938, Benny Goodman and his band performed at the Carnegie Hall of New York in what is considered one of the most influential jazz performances in history. Not only was it the first jazz performance of the venue's long history, but it was an incredible performance, with the band taking the audience through a musical journey of the history of jazz. The recordings were originally released in 1950 as on of jazz's first double LPs. 50 years later Schaap participated in the restoration, engineering, and production of a reissue of the famous concert, which released in 1999. He also wrote liner notes for the project which go into more detail about the performance.
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Goodman, Benny. The Famous 1938 Carnegie Hall Jazz Concert. Recorded January 16, 1938. Columbia C2K 65143, 1999. 2xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/1941931-Benny-Goodman-The-Famous-1938-Carnegie-Hall-Jazz-Concert
The Complete Billie Holiday on Verve 1945-1959
The Complete Billie Holiday on Verve includes every recording of Billie Holiday owned by Verve records, including all studio work, live performances, and even recorded rehearsals. Some highlights of the collection include performance in 1945-47 with Jazz at the Philharmonic and her so-called "comeback" concert in 1956 at Carnegie Hall. The project was compiled on the early 1990s and first released in 1992 as a box set of CDs. Schaap won two Grammy awards for his role in the project: one for “Best Historical Album” as a producer, and one for "Best Liner Notes".
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Holiday, Billie. The Complete Billie Holiday on Verve 1945-1959. Recorded 1945-1959. Verve 314 513 859-2, 1992. 10xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/2584645-Billie-Holiday-The-Complete-Billie-Holiday-On-Verve-1945-1959
Lady Day: (The Complete Billie Holiday on Columbia) (1933-1944)
Much like the similar collection that Schaap worked on for Verve, Lady Day is a complete collection of the recordings made by Billie Holiday for the Columbia label. Featured are performances of Holiday backed by the likes of Benny Goodman, Count Basie, Duke Ellington and Teddy Wilson, as well as her own orchestra in a box set of 10 CDs. The project also includes dozens of tracks prevsiouly unreleased. While Schaap did not have the opportunity to write the liner notes for this project (that honor was bestowed to the excellent Gary Giddins), he was a music consultant for the project, as he had worked with Columbia before to restore the company's catalogue of Miles Davis and Louis Armstrong.
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Consultant for Holiday, Billie. Lady Day: The Complete Billie Holiday on Columbia 1933-1944. Recorded November 1933 to January 1944. Columbia CXK 85470, 2001. 10xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/3460143-Billie-Holiday-Lady-Day-The-Complete-Billie-Holiday-On-Columbia-1933-1944
Bird at the Roost, The Savoy Years - The Complete Royal Roost Performances
The four volumes of Bird at the Roost contain all of the acclaimed broadcasts of Charlie Parker from the Royal Roost jazz club in Manhattan throughout 1948 and '49. Schaap spearheaded each volume of this collection, leading production and organization, as well as writing excellent liner notes for each. This collection stands as yet another effort of Schaap to fully catalogue the work and legacy of Charlie Parker, and each volume contains a trove of live recordings from the various groups led by Parker from this era, and catalogues with great depth a particular part of Bird's musical development in the late 1940s.
Listen: Apple Music* Discogs: Volume 1; 2; 3; 4
*Includes all Royal Roost performances as well as additional recordings for Savoy.
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Parker, Charlie. Bird at the Roost, The Savoy Years - The Complete Royal Roost Performances, Volume One. Recorded September 4, 1948 - January 1, 1949. Savoy SJL 2259, 1985. 2xLP. https://www.discogs.com/release/2399220-Charlie-Parker-Bird-At-The-RoostSavoy-Years-The-Complete-Royal-Roost-Performances-Volume-One
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Parker, Charlie. Bird at the Roost, The Savoy Years - The Complete Royal Roost Performances, Volume Two. Recorded January 1, 1949 - February 19, 1949. Savoy SJL 2260, 1986. 2xLP. https://www.discogs.com/release/5333765-Charlie-Parker-Bird-At-The-RoostSavoy-Years-The-Complete-Royal-Roost-Performances-Volume-Two/image/SW1hZ2U6NDQwNzE2Njg=
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Parker, Charlie. Bird at the Roost, The Savoy Years - The Complete Royal Roost Performances, Volume Three. Recorded February 26, 1949 - March 12, 1949. Savoy SLJ 1173, 1986. LP. https://www.discogs.com/release/8142285-Charlie-Parker-Bird-At-The-Roost-The-Savoy-Years-Volume-Three
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Parker, Charlie. Bird at the Roost, The Savoy Years - The Complete Royal Roost Performances, Volume Four. Recorded February 19, 1949 - March 12, 1949. Savoy ZDS 4414, 1988. CD. https://www.discogs.com/release/6194746-Charlie-Parker-Bird-At-The-Roost-The-Savoy-Years-The-Complete-Royal-Roost-Performances-Volume-Four
Bird: The Complete Charlie Parker on Verve
The Complete Charlie Parker on Verve contains every side recorded by Charlie Parker for Verve, including several classic records such as Swedish Schnapps and Bird and Diz, as well as his later experiments with strings and Machito's Afro-Cuban orchestra. Schaap, besides assisting in the project's production, also wrote extensive liner notes, annotations, and biographical information totaling 34 pages, which won him a Grammy in 1990 for Best Liner Notes. It stands as one of the most important pieces of jazz legacy, and certainly holds its place as one of the first stepping stones for any musician, enthusiast, or student to begin their exploration into the language of bebop.
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Parker, Charlie. The Complete Charlie Parker on Verve. Recorded Jan 1946 - May 1953. Verve 837 141-2, 1988. 10xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/7014691-Charlie-Parker-Bird-The-Complete-Charlie-Parker-On-Verve
The Complete Dean Benedetti Recordings
In 1947 and 1948, Dean Benedetti, an amateur saxophonist living in California, made a series of recordings of Charlie Parker which were since lost. Decades later, Benedetti’s surviving brother contacted Mosaic records, informing them that the tapes of this engagement, considered lost, existed. Along with Bob Porter, Schaap assembled the tapes into a box set of CDs where the tapes now exist as a crucial series of recordings of Charlie Parker. These recordings, previously considered extremely elusive before this project's publishing, and (despite the audio quality) provide a different, rawer perspective on Parker's musical career.
Listen: Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Parker, Charlie. The Complete Dean Benedetti Recordings of Charle Parker. Recorded March 1-13, 1947; March 31, 1948; July 6-11, 1948. Mosaic MD7-129, 1990. 7xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/5994797-Charlie-Parker-The-Complete-Dean-Benedetti-Recordings-Of-Charlie-Parker
Ellington at Newport '56
In 1996 it was discovered that the original 1956 release of Ellington at Newport ‘56 had been created with studio performances recording the day immediately following the 1956 Newport Jazz Festival, with studio tracks mixed in with live recordings from the festival. Once this discovery was made, Schaap was one of the researchers to painstakingly piece together the original tapes to produce the definitive version of this performance. Along with restoration work, Schaap also contributed remastering and production work, as well as liner notes to the 1999 release.
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Ellington, Duke. Ellington at Newport ‘56. Recorded July 7-8, 1956. Columbia C2K 64932, 1999. 2xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/6352668-Duke-Ellington-Ellington-At-Newport-1956-Complete
The Complete Hot Five and Hot Seven Recordings
The Hot Five and Hot Seven sessions were recorded between 1925 and 1928, compromising a trove of recordings from Louis Armstrong. Schaap wrote extensive notes for this box set, with a set of notes for each individual disk, explaining the origins of the groups and music on display. This stands as one of Schaap's most historically focused projects, bringing together some of the best recordings of an older era of jazz and making them more accessible and digestible. This project also won Schaap a Grammy award for the Best Historical Album.
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Liner Notes for Armstrong, Louis. The Complete Hot Five and Hot Seven Recordings. Recorded 1925-1928. Columbia C4K 63527, 2000. 4xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/4076956-Louis-Armstrong-The-Complete-Hot-Five-And-Hot-Seven-Recordings
The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings
This project includes every take recorded by the Miles Davis and Gil Evans orchestra for Columbia between May of 1957 and October of 1963. It includes four complete LPs from the same partnership that brought forth Birth of the Cool, plus other materials and recordings. Phil Schaap participated in restoration, engineering and production for the project and also created extensive liner notes, for all of which he received Grammy awards in 1997. The compilation was released as a set of 6 CDs, as well as a limited edition of 5,000 sets of 11 LPs.
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap Phil. Liner Notes for Davis, Miles and Evans, Gil. The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings. Recorded May 1957 - Oct 1963. Columbia CXK 90923, 1996. 6xCD. https://www.discogs.com/release/5910571-Miles-Davis-Gil-Evans-The-Complete-Columbia-Studio-Recordings
The Complete Jazz at the Philharmonic on Verve (1944-1949)
This set of 10 CDs is a collection of all of the recordings made by Norman Granz's Jazz at the Philharmonic concert series including all released (and some previously unreleased) owned by Verve from 1944 to 1949. The eclectic grouping of musicians that JATP made possible during the 1940s produced some of the most consistently exciting musical performances of the jazz idiom, and brought together jazz musicians of vastly different styles. Phil did remastering work and production on this project, receiving a Grammy nomination for his efforts in 2000.
Listen: Apple Music Spotify Youtube Discogs
Schaap, Phil. Remastering and Production for Jazz at the Philharmonic. The Complete Jazz at the Philharmonic 1944-1949. Recorded 1944-1949. Verve Records 314 523 893-2, 1998, 10xCD. https://www.discogs.com/master/755305-Jazz-At-The-Philharmonic-The-Complete-Jazz-At-The-Philharmonic-On-Verve-1944-1949
