Related Books
Asian American Sporting Cultures by ISBN: 1479884693Publication Date: 2016-04-05Delves into the long history of Asian American sporting cultures, considering how identities and communities are negotiated on sporting fieldsThrough a close examination of Asian American sporting cultures ranging from boxing and basketball to spelling bees and wrestling, the contributors reveal the intimate connection between sport and identity formation.
Asian American Athletes in Sport and Society (print book) by Call Number: Central Library: Stacks ; GV583 .A75 2015ISBN: 9780415874915Publication Date: 2014-11-13This book seeks to redress this pattern of neglect, presenting a comprehensive perspective on the history and significance of Asian American athletes, coaches, and teams in North America.
Library Search Tool (Vanderbilt Libraries Catalog)
- Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
SEARCH TIPS:
- Use AND to combine terms & narrow your search
- example: South Asian Americans AND Working class
- Use OR to search for related terms & expand your search
- Chinese OR South Asian Americans
- Use * to truncate a word & return all possible endings
- example: Chin* (will return China and Chinese)
- Use ALL CAPS for AND and OR
Book Review Sources
- Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
Other Book Catalogs
Google Scholar. Searches the full text of books and selected magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database. Most titles are no longer in print or commercially available.
HathiTrust Digital Library includes full-text of materials, many out of copyright (1923 or before), and records of later materials to the Vanderbilt community from the a partnership of major U.S. academic and research libraries.
WorldCat. contains more than 125 million records describing items owned by U.S. libraries and libraries around the world.
These items include books, manuscripts, musical scores, films, newspapers, etc.
Use 
to locate Vanderbilt holdings or request from Interlibrary Loan.
Locating Books and Call Numbers
Most books that deal with Asian American history topics are shelved in the Central Library. The catalog shows the book call number and location.
