Your Librarian
Zoom Meetings
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
-
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Literary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available.
-
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise overviews of hundreds of diverse topics from the abstract (Knowledge) to the concrete (Coral Reefs), written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
-
Braiding Sweetgrass: indigenous wisdom, scientific knowledge and the teachings of plants
Unlimited User Ebook Available -
Reclaiming the Environmental Debate: The Politics of Health in a Toxic Culture
Unlimited User Ebook -
Companion to American Indian History
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; E77 .C74 2002Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
People of the Ecotone: environment and indigenous power at the center of Early America
Call Number: Central Library Stacks ; E78 .M67 M65 2022Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Maine Woods
Unlimited User Ebook Available -
Floating Coast: an environmental history of the Bering Strait
Call Number: Science and Engineering Library Stacks; GE160.A68 D46 2019Print only -
The Murder of Joe White: Ojibwa leadership and colonialism in Wisconsin
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; E99 .C6 R295 2014Ebook and Print Available -
-
Wisdom Sits in Places: Landscape and Language Among the Western Apache
Three User Ebook Available -
American Indians and National Forests
Ebook Available -
INDIANS & ENERGY: EXPLOITATION AND OPPORTUNITY IN THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST
Print Book on Order
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life on topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
-
Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
