Research Guides: ASIA 2303: Classical South Asia in the Modern World: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

South Asia Open Archives (JSTOR)
SAOA is the product of a collaborative initiative of a broad consortium of 26 current member research libraries in South Asia and around the world.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences, predominantly from the British Library. Secondary resources include scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of South Asia and the relationship between Britain and India through primary source materials ranging from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras.
Coverage: 17th - 19th century.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London. High level analysis and research on global events and issues.

Coverage: 1920-2010.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Historical and current working documents from the House of Commons and the House of Lords, including papers, debates, journals, bills, and acts. Also included are command papers, Hansard (Official Report of debates), and public petitions to Parliament.
Vendor Tutorial: http://proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/login?url=https://proquest.libguides.com/parliamentary
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Collections: British Politics and Society, Asia & The West, British Theatre and Popular Culture, Corvey Collection of European Literature, Europe and Africa, Photography, Science, Technology, and Medicine Parts 1 & 2, Women Transnational Networks, Children Literature and Childhood, Mapping the World, Religion and the Periodical.

British Library Resources for the Study of South Asia
National Archives of India
Also here: https://www.abhilekh-patal.in/jspui/
National Manuscript Mission

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries, established in this repository to archive and share their digital content.
Access Note: VU is a partner institution. Login is required for downloading. Tutorial: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/HathiTrustAccess

Historical Atlas of South Asia
Source: University of Chicago Digital South Asia Library.
Perry-Castañeda Library Historical Map Collection
Collection of historical maps for Asia and the world from the University of Texas.