Researching the Grand Challenges
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic books on all areas of engineering from McGraw Hill. A great source to get an introduction to a topic.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing books, articles and videos on science topics, as well as biographies of important scientists.
- Knovel (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases) This link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic books and book chapters related to all areas of engineering.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OV or OVIC) This link opens in a new window
Pro and con articles on important social, political, and economic issues. Reference articles that provide context, magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and links.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find magazine articles on grand challenge topics. Be sure to refine your results to "magazine articles."
- Vanderbilt Library CatalogSearch the Vanderbilt Libraries Catalog for books and articles on the grand challenges. It's important to use the filters to narrow down your result set (e.g., just book chapters or magazine articles).
Finding Company and Industry Information
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of industry reports; market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Company chronologies, company histories, journals, market research reports, market share reports, rankings, recent news, SWOT reports, videos, industry information. Comparison chart tool.
- Hoovers This link opens in a new windowDetails on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
Additional Resources for Engineers
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database contains research articles from the most-respected scholarly journals. Use when you need to find peer reviewed articles describing original research or review articles that summarize a research area.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThe most important research database for engineers. Use it to find scholarly journal articles, conference papers and books in all areas of engineering.
Librarian
Citation Management Software
Citation management software allows you to create your own personal library of references to books, articles and documents. References can include citation information as well as annotations, graphics, and even copies of the documents themselves.
Most importantly, it will format a paper or bibliography in whatever style you want. The software works with Microsoft Word and other word processors to automatically add references to your paper and in the proper format.
Learn more about the following citation management software packages on this guide:
