Research Guides: MHS 2700: Trauma, Violence, &amp; Health: Finding Scholarly Sources

Librarian for Sociology, Environmental Sociology, MHS and Public Policy Studies

Pam Morgan

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Gender and Sexuality Studies, Medicine, Health and Society, Public Policy Studies, Sociology

Scholarly Sources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
International journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
Coverage: 1800s to present.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: authoritative coverage of literature related to nursing and allied health professionals.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. Abstracts and index of serials publications, journal articles, dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.

You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).

Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
Add VU to your Google profile: https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings

Vanderbilt University Library Search

Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:

Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles

Search Scope	What is included?	When should I use it?
Everything	Broadest search scope Results will include books and ebooks, articles, and media like DVDs	A great option when you are just beginning your research process. Use Everything when you want to survey the research landscape for your topic
Library Catalog	Focuses on VU owned items, physical and digital Results will include books and ebooks, and media like DVDs Digital collections like the TV News Archive will also be included in your results	You have defined your information needs Use Library Catalog when you are ready to create a tailored search for your topic
Articles	Content from selected VU databases Popular and scholarly articles	Use Articles to find popular and scholarly articles on your topic. The Articles scope does not search across all databases accessible to the Vanderbilt community. Not finding the articles you need or want more database options? Consult the Database A-Z

For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?

1. Use quotes around phrases

2. Use the "Quick Filters" if you want just books, articles, etc.

3. If you need peer reviewed sources, apply that filter

4. Use "Format" for other types of sources such as newspaper articles, book chapters, etc.

5. Use the date limiter

A complete list of limiters can be found on the left hand side of the screen below "Refine your results".