Vanderbilt University Library Catalog
Browsing for Books-Print
Another option is to browse the STACKS for books. The following call # areas might be of interest for this class.
Art Books-Regular and Oversize books are located on the 8th floor of the Central Library.
Photography Books, mainly TR are located on the 3rd floor of the Central Library.
| Visual Arts (General) | N |
| Architecture | NA |
| Sculpture | NB |
| Drawing | NC |
| Painting | ND |
| Prints/Engravings | NE |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Arts in general | NX |
| Photography | TR |
What's This Number?
Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog? or where to find the book in the library?
Books, Articles and More!
LIBRARY WEBSITE
Keyword vs Subject Searching:
Step 1: Start your search process with a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches.
Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.
The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowResource for scholarly literature on western art, and successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowComplete archive of American Vogue, documenting American and international fashion, culture, and society. High-resolution color page images, with every page, advertisement, cover, and fold-out included.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
Try a SUBJECT begins with search using one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:
| Photographic Criticism | Photography--History | |
| Photography, artistic | Photography--Social Aspects | |
| Photography, artistic--Exhibitions | Cartier-Bresson, Henri | |
| Photography, artistic--Periodicals | Sherman, Cindy | |
| Photography--United States | Black-and-White photography |
