Research Guides: Library Resources for VU Communications & Marketing: Business and Statistics

Business & Market Research

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
Logs out after 15 minutes of inactivity.
Libguide for Factiva
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Large collection of industry reports; market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Details on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research.
Coverage: 1991 to present.
Harvard Business Review Press Collection This link opens in a new window
HBR’s complete catalog of ebooks on a range of business subjects, including business communication, career development, entrepreneurship, finance, human resources & personnel management, marketing, organizational behavior, and strategic planning.

Statistics & Facts

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Federal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
Coverage: From the U.S. government, 1973 to present; from international intergovernmental, 1983 to present.

CIA World Factbook

American Community Survey (ACS) This link opens in a new window
Annual United States survey of population and housing. Covers age, race, income, commute time to work, home value, veteran status, and other important data.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (HSUS) This link opens in a new window
Historical statistics on social, political, and economic aspects of the United States. Census and other statistical data. Create custom tables and merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed. Essays by experts place topics such as migration, slavery, health, crime, Native Americans, and the Confederate States of America in historical context.
If you experience an error message, please clear your browser's cache and retry connecting.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
Global statistical data on business, economics, environmental studies, geography, history, politics, sociology, and statistical studies.
Coverage: 1750-2010.