Research Guides: ASAM 3101: Southeast Asian Americans: Primary Sources

Key Collections

American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History that cover the major themes of American History.
Coverage: 1493-1945.
American West This link opens in a new window
Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library cover social, political, and economic aspects of the American West. Explore tales of frontier life, Indigenous Peoples, the growth of urban centers, and the environmental impact of westward expansion.
Coverage: Early 18th to Mid-20th Century.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
Making of America (Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical documents relating to famous trials during this time period.
Coverage: 1600-1926.
Proquest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Document projects and archives, including book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools; organized around the history of women in social movements.
Coverage: 1600-2000.

Open Access Resources

Asian Nation: The Landscape of Asian America
Run by a scholar at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, this site aims to serve as "an authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community."
Digital History - Asian Voices
Categories include: Asia Discovers America, Asians and the Making of America, World War II and Asian Americans, The Newest Immigrants
SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience
This UC-Irvine resource provides access to primary and other resource material focusing on the experience of post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam
Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL)
Provides free and open access to a variety of materials created in and about Southeast Asia. SEADL supports researchers, educators, and members of the public by aggregating and contextualizing these unique digitized materials in a single online environment that can be easily browsed and searched. Founded on the value of collaboration, SEADL facilitates partnerships between institutions around the world to preserve and share Southeast Asian cultural heritage for all who seek it.