Getting Fulltext
What is
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
Architecture Journals
- USModernist LibraryUSModernist® Library, the world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines, with over 3 million downloadable pages - all free to access.
Resources
Finding Scholarly Articles
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. Index of international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
- BHA and RILA This link opens in a new windowCurrent literature of European and North and South American art. Traditional fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints), decorative and applied arts, industrial design, popular and folk art, photography, and contemporary new media. Citations from publications on the performing arts (costumes and scenography) and related titles from music, history and literature. BHA incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- International advertising & design databaseIt is the goal of the Foundation to publicize as much information as possible through the IADDB and to ask the public to actively participate by adding images, names, dates and all other kinds of information. The database starts with but is not limited to posters. Posters are just part of a campaign, that in the old days would include newspaper advertisements, poster stamps, handbills, packaging, etc. etc. Nowadays an advertising campaign would not be complete without commercials on radio and TV as well as on social media. As copyrights get into the way of publishing those newer ways of advertising the IADDB will start with material, posters magazines etc., that as far as the foundation could establish are free from copyrights. Rightful owners of copyrights to anything published by the IADDB are urged to step forward so the board can address the matter prudently.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowResource for scholarly literature on western art, and successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowArticle citations in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Covers 40 languages and dialects, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Includes bibliographic citations, but no abstracts.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowComplete archive of American Vogue, documenting American and international fashion, culture, and society. High-resolution color page images, with every page, advertisement, cover, and fold-out included.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
