Walker Management Library
Walker Management *Library
Contact:
Walker Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
Website
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
Persuasive Speech Resources
Professional Business Research Databases
- Statista This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Business Source CompleteCovers most subject areas related to business: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc. Includes Business Communication Quarterly.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)The key index for Communication Studies. Covers journals in the fields of communication, mass media, and other closely-related areas of study. Includes Journal of Communication.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Dynamically compare and manipulate statistical data to create tables, maps, and figures.
- Conference Board, TheResearch on business management and trends. Select Business Management Insights in the left hand menu, then use the Topic drop down menu and select Marketing and Communications, or Leadership Development to access reports in that area.
- ProQuest CentralA multi-disciplinary database with full text availability for nearly 2,000 journals in all academic fields. It includes same-day, full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OV or OVIC) This link opens in a new window
Pro and con articles on important social, political, and economic issues. Reference articles that provide context, magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and links.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowEssays that present multiple sides of a current issue, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. Contains: political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.
- e-MarketerPublishes data, analysis and insights on digital marketing, traditional media, social media and commerce.. eStat section has statistics and graphs on Internet-related topics.
Vetting Your Sources
Searching the internet is quick and easy, and can be a great source for relevant, quality information. Caveat Emptor: evaluate the resources you use.
Here are some guidelines to assess Internet resources, such as Web pages and blogs:
- Currency - Is the information current? Is it updated regularly?
- Reliability - Is the source reputable? Is it accurate?
- Authority - Who created the information? Why?
- Purpose/Point of View - Is there a balance of perspectives? Is the information biased?
Please see this additional information about the CRAP test as well as the Vanderbilt University presentation What The Crap?
