Research Guides: PHYS 8000: Physics Seminar: Physics & Astronomy Resources

Databases

Web of Science: Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
Major journals across science disciplines. Complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Each citation includes a list of references cited in the source article.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to IEEE and IEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Engineering.
Coverage: 1988 to present
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combined Compendex, Ei Backfile, GeoRef, Inspec and Inspec Archive databases on scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 to present.
Arxiv: The Preprint Server for Physics and More This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Applied Physics Reviews
Applied Physics Reviews (APR) features articles on important and current topics in experimental or theoretical research in applied physics or applications of physics to other branches of science and engineering. APR publishes the following types of articles:
more...less...
Original Research: An article reporting on an important and novel research study of high quality and general interest to the applied physics community.
Reviews: This type of article can either be an authoritative, comprehensive review of established areas of applied physics, or a short timely review of recent advances in established fields or new and emerging areas of applied physics.
Nature Physics
Nature Physics publishes papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied. The journal content reflects core physics disciplines but is also open to a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics. Theoretical physics, particularly where it is pertinent to experiment, also features.
Physical Review A: General Physics
Physical Review A (PRA) publishes important developments in the rapidly evolving areas of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, quantum information, and related fundamental concepts.

Knovel (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases) This link opens in a new window
Reference books and databases from sci-tech publishers.**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link:
http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel.
Access Note: Users must login from off campus using a Knovel account- see instructions above.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering ebooks and videos integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Online resource containing reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
ISBN: 978-0367712600
Publication Date: Boca Raton : CRC Press, 2021.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables.

Email Me

Contact:

Office: SC 3218
Virtual Office Hours:
Monday, 1:00-2:00pm
Click ribbon for Zoom link