Databases for Asian-American & Diaspora Studies Research
- Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals on a broad range of subject areas--arts and the humanities, social sciences, science and technology.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- American quarterly.The journal publishes essays that examine American societies and cultures, past and present, in global and local contexts.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of books, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings on all subjects (especially the Humanities and Social Sciences) pertaining to the East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
- Radical History ReviewContains articles addressing issues of gender, race, sexuality, imperialism, & class, stretching the boundaries of historical analysis to explore Western & non-Western histories.
Subject Specific Databases
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Historical Monographs Collection, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowPublications documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era, the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, among many other topics.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. National and regional publications: African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European, Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Left Index This link opens in a new window
Political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship. Citations and abstracts (with some full text).
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
• Criminal Justice Database
• Education Database
• ERIC
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
• PAIS Index
• Political Science Database
• PTSDpubs
• Social Science Database
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Sociology Database
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
- PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new windowFreely available journal literature in the life sciences from the National Center for Biotechnology Information and the National Library of Medicine.
Key Asian American Studies Journals
- AAPI Nexus Journal: Asian Americans & Pacific Islanders Policy, Practice and CommunityPublished by UCLA’s Asian American Studies Center Press, AAPI Nexus is a national journal focusing on policies, practices and community research to benefit the nation’s burgeoning Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.
- Alon: Journal for Filipinx American and Diasporic StudiesThe mission of Alon is to provide an on-line forum for publishing original and refereed essays, artwork, reviews, and moderated reflections that productively and critically engage with Filipinx American and Filipinx Diasporic Studies.
- Amerasia JournalA leading interdisciplinary journal publishing research in Asian American and Pacific Islander studies, covering topics such as representation and marginalization.
- Asian American Law JournalAALJ is one of only two law journals in the United States focusing on Asian American communities in its publication agenda. Known as the Asian Law Journal until 2007, AALJ was first published in October 1993 in a joint publication with the California Law Review.
- Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogiesfocuses on the production, collection, and distribution of accessible high quality research on Asian American Literature for students, teachers, and the general public.
- Asian American policy review.This peer-reviewed, student-run Harvard publication presents analyses of political, cultural, and economic issues
- Asian Pacific American Law JournalAALJ is one of only two law journals in the United States focusing on Asian American communities in its publication agenda. Known as the Asian Law Journal until 2007, AALJ was first published in October 1993 in a joint publication with the California Law Review.
- Chinese America, history and perspectivesThe Journal of the Chinese Historical Society of America is published annually by Chinese Historical Society of America.
- Differences.Peer-reviewed publication with focus on how concepts of difference operate within culture
- Ethnic & Racial StudiesAn interdisciplinary international academic forum for the presentation of peer-reviewed research and theoretical analysis, drawing on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, economics, international relations, history and social psychology
- FANHS JournalThe FANHS Journal is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published by FANHS.The goal of the journal is to promote the mission of FANHS by publishing, disseminating, and promoting research related to Filipino American history. The journal publishes research by community-based and academic historians as well as personal histories.
- International Migration ReviewA peer-reviewed journal on sociodemographic, economic, historical, political and legislative aspects of migration
- Journal of American Ethnic HistoryPeer-reviewed publication of the University of Illinois Press that addresses various aspects of American ethnic history.
- Journal of Asian American studiesJAAS explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues.
- Journal of Contemporary EthnographyInternational peer-reviewed journal dedicated to ethnography and qualitative research
- Journal of Ethnic and Migration StudiesPeer-reviewed journal presenting research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration
- Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and AdvancementJSAAEA, an online and freely accessible interdisciplinary journal providing a forum for scholars and writers from diverse fields who share a common interest in Southeast Asian (SEA) Americans and their communities.
- Korean StudiesInterdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published by the University of Hawaii at Manoa concerning Korea and Koreans living abroad
- MELUSScholarly journal dedicated to multi-ethnic literature in English
Getting Fulltext Online
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
